New year, new stuff! Watch for our announcement on improvements and new content being added to our community.


Forum RSS FeedFollow @ TwitterFollow @ Twitter

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
01-12-2011, 10:33 PM
Post: #11
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
This board had an "OSB Logo" instead of the regular OEM type. I extracted it and it didn't have the header. I put your logo (in 640x480) format in as the OSB Logo, replacing the one there. I don't know if it will work because I did not remove the header from the file. I do not know if CBROM automatically does that or if it matters.


Attached File(s)
.zip  ACS25331-UL-SATA107-VGA251-Logo-Message.zip (Size: 463.42 KB / Downloads: 17)

Feel free to use/link/host any BIOS I post, no credit necessary. However, this is at your own risk and I take no responsibility. Always keep a backup of a known-good BIOS. Don't flash a motherboard if you don't have a backup computer just in case.

Always use RAID mode. RAIDFix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply

Login or Register to remove this ad

01-13-2011, 09:18 AM (This post was last modified: 01-13-2011 09:29 AM by MrTangoWhisky.)
Post: #12
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
So, The BIOS is went on telling me "This BIOS is made exclusive for Acer only."
And the picture is shown, streched, pixeled and shrinked to 640x480/16colors max displayable resolution... Sad
I will create a pic, fitting this presets.
[br]
Here you go, one more logo...
.bmp  Edition 3.11.bmp (Size: 150.12 KB / Downloads: 22)

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2011, 09:21 AM (This post was last modified: 01-13-2011 09:22 AM by Dansolo.)
Post: #13
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
stock logo was 256 colors (8bpp) so that's what I dithered the logo to. It's showing it with only 16? As for the message, I don't know what file inside of the BIOS that it's stored in. I do not let modbin edit my files directly because it sometimes corrupts them.

Feel free to use/link/host any BIOS I post, no credit necessary. However, this is at your own risk and I take no responsibility. Always keep a backup of a known-good BIOS. Don't flash a motherboard if you don't have a backup computer just in case.

Always use RAID mode. RAIDFix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2011, 09:34 AM (This post was last modified: 01-13-2011 09:42 AM by MrTangoWhisky.)
Post: #14
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
I think it should be in the string table where normally the date of the BIOS is written to be shown during post or in the DMI...
I just took a look and found nearly no plain text in the rom's!This is not the standard!

You can see the imitation in one of my logo's:
http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/attachment.php?aid=1194
The third written row is what I need to edit or being edited (the text with bois-mods.com on top)...

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2011, 02:27 PM
Post: #15
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
Exact phrase the BIOS is telling:

This BIOS is exclusively made for Acer only R03-A0

It should tell something like:

This BIOS is made for bios-mods.com © R03-A0

The picture is also displayed invert-coloured I found out...

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 02:11 PM
Post: #16
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
Post #500 and I'm still on this problem...
You dithered the pic I gave you to 256 color/800x600 pixel??? I thought I prepared the pic to fit that specs... :-|

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2011, 10:00 AM
Post: #17
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
Why do you have 800x600 in your head? It has to be 640x480.

Feel free to use/link/host any BIOS I post, no credit necessary. However, this is at your own risk and I take no responsibility. Always keep a backup of a known-good BIOS. Don't flash a motherboard if you don't have a backup computer just in case.

Always use RAID mode. RAIDFix
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2011, 09:43 AM
Post: #18
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
It is AWARD isn't it? So the splashers are 800x600!!! It has been proven as I did some myself with these specs and they all worked on my Acer E380/ECS MCP61PM-AM. Take a look to my splashers and EPAs yourself: http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-fr...o-you-want
And I continue working out splashers and EPAs with these specs as noone ever told me it is wrong...
BTW.: The WIKI-article about creating your own BIOS-logo was formerly written by me Smile!!!

Greetz to one of the hard working magicians,
Tango

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2011, 02:53 PM
Post: #19
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
hiya,

i was about to use the bios mod on an acer board but there seem to hardware differences between mine and the one the guy successfull used.

the bios id i have is:

sis -661-6A714E01AC-00 acer R02-A1

the board sticker says SF2/661FX rev 1.1

BUT this board hasn't got the sata sockets fitted, although the solder points are present.

if anyone has any advice i'd be glad to hear it. Smile

also does the mod add any cpu clocking ability?

all the best, thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-29-2011, 01:04 PM
Post: #20
RE: Acer/ECS SF2/661FX REV:1.1
Maybe you are able to grab an image of your actual BIOS and load it up right here so we can check that for you? I'm sure we can get a lot more out of this board as I finally (before I gifted it to one of my sisters) tuned the soldered VIA-pocessor to nearly doubled speed without any more noise or heat!!! I'm sure we can help you as this BIOS is one of the easier ones! Wink

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
BIOS-Mods Member Chat
To join us in the community live chat, please register or login.