NEWS AND UPDATES

  • We have updated our Wiki navigation and have started publishing new modification tutorials. Visit the wiki here
  • User BDMaster has been upgraded to a top contributor, Congratulations!

Forum RSS FeedFollow @ TwitterFollow @ Twitter

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
10-08-2009, 08:07 PM (This post was last modified: 07-12-2012 10:39 PM by TheWiz.)
Post: #1
HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
[Image: iris8.jpg]

For screenshots of BIOS setup, please visit http://www.bios-mods.com/blog/?p=142

We finally have some really really exciting news. The battle for these common boards to have stable OC menus, voltage modification, Phenom II support, and a professional retail BIOS has finally come. Our most helpful members banana19 and MrTangoWhiskey have found an ABIT retail BIOS, that successfully flashes to all of the OEM boards mentioned with full control of voltage, OC, and has support for all Phenom I/II proccessors.

So before we get to specifics, a brief timeline on the modding proccess for this motherboard. This has been going on for over a year, and it has taken a lot of support and research to get this board where it should be. We originally started off modifying the HP BIOS for the board. we were able to get overclocking options from it, but the menu was very unstable and items were always floating on the screen. After about 8 months of searching for the solution within the HP BIOS, we realized that poor coding quality in the BIOS was unfixable, and it was time to find the retail fit. I had been doing research on this when a kind member on the forum pointed that this BIOS had all the goods. Its version numbers were similar, it had the same chipset (BIOS donated from ABIT board) and abit has always been known for having overclocking options. With this unlock, we have unlocked what we would see in a retail award bios. The most appealing features are control of AMD Cool and Quiet, Adjustment of CPU FSB, PhenomII support (65-95W recommended) and even setting the voltage and memory timings.

That said, what are you waiting for? Here’s what we need to get started:
1. First, we need to prepare a bootable USB to launch DOS and flash the new BIOS. To do so, download the HP USB disk format tool and install it here


2. Once installed, open the utility and select the USB to format. Below, tick the bubble for creating an MSDOS startup disk. It will then want you to point it to a DOS image folder. You will need to download and unzip this DOS image (do NOT use your own DOS image) here Once it has completed formating your drive, open up the USB in My Computer. Verify that there are only three files on the USB, making sure to unhide protected operating system files in explorer to see them. If you see three DOS files, you are ready for the next phase.

3. Now we will copy over the ABIT BIOS image as well as the flash utility. You will need download AWDFLASH and copy it over to your USB here Once awdflash has been copied over, download the Bios image and save it to your usb from here

4. Once these files have been copied over, you are ready to flash. Reboot windows, and when the BIOS screen comes up hold down Esc and select your USB to boot off of. You will then see a WIN98 splashscreen temporarily flash and you will be in DOS. Once at the prompt, type in the following command:

awdflash M613Z_19.BIN /py /sn /cc / cd /cp /wb /r

Once you type this in you should see on screen the progress of the BIOS flash. When it has finished, it will automatically restart the systen. When it does, tap the delete key to eter the BIOS. There are a couple of this that you will instantly have to do for the best results. Set Smart Fan to Auto in PC Health setup, Enable HPET Support in Advanced BIOS setup, and in the standard setup, MAKE SURE that the floppy is disabled, or it may stall windows for several odd reasons. Out of our four testers, we have all had success with this mod, each on a different board. I was a second tester for the Nettle2 and have a few more words. If you are planning to do this, I recommend backing up windows in case you have to reformat, which wasn’t that bad considering WHS backs up my data. Also, if you hear loud fan noise do not worry. First off, I am the only tester who had tis issue, but if you do have this issue then unplugging the rear system fan on the back of the case will instantly make the box silent, and colling isn’t affected. I have also made a work around for solving the fan speed issue, if you need it (which you shouldn’t) then you can hit the support forum. We are ensuring 24hr. technical support for these boards, and by become a member of Bios Mods (free) you can post on the forums with any questions.

NOTE: We have not had recent success with Phenom processors. Please do not invest in them until we have found a solution.

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply

Login or Register to remove this ad

12-16-2009, 02:11 PM (This post was last modified: 03-07-2010 11:27 AM by TheWiz.)
Post: #2
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
ok it work but still will not suppor a 3.0GHz 89watts processor X2 6000+ 90nm Windsor

Note: The older posts contain info that was regarding the previous mod. this CPU is in fact supported along with all Phenom II CPUs.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2009, 03:52 PM
Post: #3
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
It will support the amd x2 6000 if you use either the older revision or add microcode, which may or may not brick it.

TheWiz

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2009, 05:20 PM
Post: #4
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
I USE IRIS8MODE.BIN ITFLASH WELL BUT WHEN I PUT THE 6000 IT SAYS UNSUPPORTE CPU. I'M NOT THAT GOOD ON THIS SO CAN YOU HELP ME OUT
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2009, 07:05 PM
Post: #5
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
I understood you the first tme, please don't act as if I'm incapable. It was reported that an earlier BIOS version had the microcode and it got dropped, but that's all heresay. In order for the CPU to work, you have to add Microcode. Microcode is a risky business, and I can tell you that you can end up bricking and going crazy as to why nothing works. However, I will do a simple (mostly safe) AGESA upgrade. Tthis may or may not fix it, we'll see. Please wait while I retrieve an download link for you.

TheWiz

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2009, 07:37 PM
Post: #6
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1525839/Bios/iris8cpu.bin

here's the first try, well do the riskier one if this doesn't work.

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2009, 12:19 AM
Post: #7
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
ok i just updated the bios and now it turn on but when it starts loading windows it just restarts . do i have to change some settings in the bios ?? thankx for the help in advance
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2009, 12:27 PM
Post: #8
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
i also have a AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ 2.9 GHz but is also 89w and won't work either. the update you gave me iris8cpu.bin lets the computer turn on with the 89w but when windows starts it just reboots. i 'm thinking is ustable , but is there a setting in the bios that can let it work ??
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2009, 02:20 PM
Post: #9
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
Can you access the bios menu? can you boot dos? Is it only a windows reboot issue? If you stay in the bios setup, does it auto reboot?

TheWiz

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2009, 02:24 PM (This post was last modified: 12-17-2009 02:26 PM by TheWiz.)
Post: #10
RE: HP COMPAQ Iris8 with Unlocked Overclocking Options
If its windows only, have you tried booting a live windows linux cd, safe mode in windows? Is the 6000 still giving the unsupported cpu ?

TheWiz

Any error codes in the bios POST?

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
BIOS-Mods Member Chat
To join us in the community live chat, please register or login.