New year, new stuff! Watch for our announcement on improvements and new content being added to our community.


Forum RSS FeedFollow @ TwitterFollow @ Twitter

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
01-23-2011, 11:00 PM (This post was last modified: 01-23-2011 11:51 PM by Jayce1971.)
Post: #51
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
Glad to hear that the Phenom II's are working o.k. I plan on goin the 940 B.E. if the multiplier is able to be unlocked.... (no point in a black edition if you cant change the multiplier). I've got the Foxconn C51 edition of this board, seems to be the same as EVGA, BFG, etc. I've got 4 gigs of decent ddr2 which I've had up to about 925 4-4-4-12 on this board, so I'd like to do some benchmark testing. I can compare what difference the l3 cache actually makes, as my proc runs at 3.0Ghz factory... (5800 X2)Please let me know if there are any plans to enable the multiplier for the future, so I can look for a 940 b.e. Thanks for all the work, fella's.
As an afterthought, does (perhaps) the modified bios clock multiplier work with AM2, and AM2+ procs? I could see with the ddr3 support on the newer socket AM3 chips why problems might arise. Also, power should NOT be an issue on these boards. They can supply a full 2.5 volts to the memory and 1.8 to the proc, as measured with a multimeter. 125 watt AM2+ should be fair game with the proper bios, as they are already able to handle Athlon 6000-6400's running at 125 watts. I'd sure like to see if I can hit 3.6Ghz on a 940 BE with a Noctua NH-D14 cooler and my many 3000 rpm Scythe ultra kaze fans a'blowin. In fact, I think I'll just go ahead and get the proc, as having 4 cores and TONS of extra cache would be worth the small expenditure, even if I can't oc the he.l.l. out of it. I'll be back to try whichever bios ends up working out the best for this setup. Thanks for all your help and time.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply

Login or Register to remove this ad

02-04-2011, 07:38 PM
Post: #52
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
Due to the earlier comment to stick with a lower power CPUs I was looking at the 945 95W version - any reason this CPU would not work? It is 3000Mhz, using the same 15x clock multiplier as the 940, and pretty much is the same except for the 945 has 667MHz memory clock and the 940 has a 533MHz clock and is 125W. At default clock settings it seems the 945 should be faster.

The 945 can't be overclocked apparently... but I prefer rock solid stability to living on the edge performance :-)

Any reason the 945 wouldn't work, or why I shouldn't get it instead of the 940? Am I overly concerned with power consumption and stability issues?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-04-2011, 10:32 PM
Post: #53
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
Hi luminarycrush,

I don't think there are any forseeable problems with using the 945 95W CPU, it's a good fit for the board.

Thanks,
TheWiz

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2011, 02:46 PM
Post: #54
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
Found out what was causing the 100% cpu usage. It was the network cards, I had two 100 sitting around and put those in. My issues gone for now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2011, 06:11 PM
Post: #55
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
Glad to hear! Can you post us your latest benchmark?

Thanks,
TheWiz

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-12-2011, 10:31 AM (This post was last modified: 02-12-2011 01:42 PM by djblade17.)
Post: #56
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
wow glad a i found this site again
lost the page so i gave up on this project.......

so seems like we got some progression.....
looks like most c2 phenom ii will work???
125w will also work?????
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-Ph...OX%29.html
X Crosses FingersX
http://shop.amd.com/US/_layouts/shop/Pro...gion=us-en
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2011, 11:09 AM (This post was last modified: 02-13-2011 11:10 AM by TheWiz.)
Post: #57
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
The 955 should POST, but you will most likely be forced to set the multi in windows and run into issues with the power draw. I suggest purchasing the 945 95W C2 version.

popoosky, Would you please be so kind as to start a confirmed thread with all the pertinent info so others can easily find the info without weeding through posts.

Thanks,
TheWiz

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2011, 11:34 AM (This post was last modified: 02-13-2011 11:35 AM by djblade17.)
Post: #58
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
kk found one on ebay for 100 bucks.........
got kinda confused one user said that the x2 6000-6400 run at 125w
but i am looking to oc

where can i learn info on modding my own bios
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2011, 11:44 AM
Post: #59
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
We have still been trying to compile ou new Wiki for that kind of stuff, but if there is something specific you were trying to pickup I may be able to help out.

TheWiz

If you are interested in taking on a larger role as a team member with us at BIOS-Mods, we are open for new positions.

[Image: 1692347.png]
Visit this user's websiteFind all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2011, 12:34 PM (This post was last modified: 02-13-2011 01:27 PM by djblade17.)
Post: #60
RE: Phenom II support on EVGA 590 SLI
well you and popoosky were able to edit current ones.....
what do I need to learn
found this interesting guide/tutorial
dont know if its too outdated or if it would help
http://sites.google.com/site/pinczakko/p...ngineering
this is going to be my play around computer...
also was looking to upgrade my ram on this board
currently im using
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6820145034
wanted to
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as..._-20231246
if they ever come back in stock
is this good pic
got any better suggestions
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
BIOS-Mods Member Chat
To join us in the community live chat, please register or login.