Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Dell Venue 111 7130 vPro
Last Post: twinsen23
Today 04:22 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 9
[REQUEST] HP Erica6 AMI bios 8906 vF.03
Last Post: RussianJesus
Today 02:51 AM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 543
CLEVO BIOS Mods
Last Post: pitu20012
Today 02:50 AM
» Replies: 213
» Views: 376638
[REQUEST] Lenovo IdeaPad Z480 & Z580 (5F...
Last Post: iphonenexus
Today 02:32 AM
» Replies: 543
» Views: 103163
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z50-70 & Z40-70 (9BCNxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 02:09 AM
» Replies: 757
» Views: 118944
[Request] Alienware 17 R2 bios unlock
Last Post: feluchi
Today 01:32 AM
» Replies: 113
» Views: 23012
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E320 (8NE...
Last Post: Immer.dasselbe
Yesterday 03:06 PM
» Replies: 79
» Views: 17916
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad T430u (H6ETxxW...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 03:00 PM
» Replies: 19
» Views: 5264
[REQUEST] Lenovo Ideapad S145-IWL - Remo...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 02:31 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 99
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 01:03 PM
» Replies: 1979
» Views: 365106
[REQUEST] Lenovo T440(S) (GJETxxWW) Whit...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 12:08 PM
» Replies: 507
» Views: 102795
[REQUEST] Lenovo G510 (79CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 12:05 PM
» Replies: 604
» Views: 111953
Fujitsu Celsius R930 (D3118-A2) unlocked...
Last Post: qix67
Yesterday 10:42 AM
» Replies: 20
» Views: 3830
I need a moded Bios
Last Post: Alone A.I.
Yesterday 10:00 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 144
[REQUEST] Lenovo 110-15ISK onboard memor...
Last Post: kurtspirit
Yesterday 06:51 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 49
[Request] ASUS ROG GL553VW BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 04:54 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 191
[REQUEST] Asus TUF Dash F15 BIOS Unlock ...
Last Post: Kay123
Yesterday 02:31 AM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 2971
server board ID
Last Post: bobot
09-21-2021 09:43 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 92
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkCentre M73 Tiny (F...
Last Post: afhpwnd
09-21-2021 03:18 PM
» Replies: 44
» Views: 21017
Dell XPS 15 9550 bios password help!!!
Last Post: DeathBringer
09-21-2021 01:48 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 196

Gigabyte EP45-UD3LR rev1.1 4TB request
#21
(10-05-2017, 09:49 AM)gto4ben Wrote: Very strange. A HD will be automatically detected on the Intel SATA ports if you are in raid mode. Can you see your HD after hitting CTRL - I during boot upon seeing the Intel RAID screen? If you are looking for your HDs within windows, you'll need to install the Intel RST Driver 11.2.0.1006.

Total success! I was able to run a Toshiba 3TB HDD in AHCI mode and windows 10 32 bit! now I'm dealing with one of 64 bits. I upgraded from win7 to win10 32bit so far without problems.

I'm following this :
http://windowsreport.com/cmpxchg16b-comp...indows-10/

I am pleasantly surprised by the versatility of this old mobo. I wanted to have the xeon that you use with a better cooler than the current (cooler master T4 maybe) and a Radeon RX580 to try Vulcan. What do yo think? It will work?

Thank you so much, I learned a lot !!!!
find
quote
#22
All the Gigabyte MBs with socket 775, 2 oz copper PWBs, and solid capacitors are very good and can perform reliably beyond the typical desktop life cycle. Consider adding an SSD for your OS and you will top out the P45 chipset capabilities.

In order to fully take advantage of a X5492, a MB needs to have a 400MHz BUS and a 8.5X multiplier to reach the x5492's 3400MHz clock rate. Check your bios if you have the 0.5 multiplier or you'll only get an 8X multiplier for a 3200MHz clock rate.

Newer video cards will work on your PCIE v2.0. The only problem I've encountered is poor Crossfire support from AMD (aka ATI). Only the 2013 video drivers work in crossfire on the Gigabyte MBs and newer drivers do not. Your Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR rev 1.0 has only a single PCIE slot so that's not a concern for you.

Glad everything worked out for you.
find
quote
#23
(10-05-2017, 12:48 AM)gunnard Wrote:
(10-04-2017, 10:20 PM)gto4ben Wrote: Coreinfo is reporting that the X5460 does not support
CX16           " -"       Supports CMPXCHG16B instruction.
It would have a "*" if the bios supports. According to CPU-WORLD.com, your processor supports CMP16XCHG16B instructions. Looks like you need the Xeon microcodes inserted into the bios. I'll get to it in a few days. It's been a while since I did this so it you find a bios version on the web with the latest microcodes, attach it to this post to make things move quicker.

Turn ON the Intel RAID in the bios and make sure the HD is connected to the Intel SATA ports and not the GSATA ports.  It should recognize your HD correctly with the updated bios. Let's get this working before fixing the microcodes.

I never had to use the backup bios but as I understand the manual, it reverts automatically after an unsuccessful POST attempt. From a Gigabyte manual.

"What is DualBIOS™?
Motherboards that support DualBIOS have two BIOS onboard, a main BIOS and a backup BIOS. Normally, the system works on the main BIOS. However, if the main BIOS is corrupted or damaged, the backup BIOS will take over on the next system boot and copy the BIOS file to the main BIOS to ensure normal system operation. For the sake of system safety, users cannot update the backup BIOS manually"

Looking at the Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR rev 1.0 manual, your MB has dual bios so it's safe if the bios upgrade does not go well.

all right! with the bios I am calm now because I ruined a Xeon E5440 and MSI P45 Diamond mobo Sad  trying to insert the microcode a few months ago, I can't fix it.

I already flashed the bios that you sent and I write to you from that mobo (does not have GSATA).

OK, next step: I'm going to remove all hard drives and try the 3TB only because the system did not detect any HDD in RAID mode, just AHCI or IDE. Should it run the other disks in RAID mode? They are now at AHCI.

Dear gto4ben,

          how are you? I was testing the 3 Tb HDD with games. It seems that I will need the microcodes because I have these (attached) alerts in 2 games.

          Then we need to add the CMP16XCHG16B instructions in the bios that you modified and see if SSE4.1 can be added (if it supports it) and the other error fixed. Do you think it could be possible?
         
          Regards.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
       
find
quote
#24
(10-27-2017, 10:24 PM)gunnard Wrote:
(10-05-2017, 12:48 AM)gunnard Wrote:
(10-04-2017, 10:20 PM)gto4ben Wrote: Coreinfo is reporting that the X5460 does not support
CX16           " -"       Supports CMPXCHG16B instruction.
It would have a "*" if the bios supports. According to CPU-WORLD.com, your processor supports CMP16XCHG16B instructions. Looks like you need the Xeon microcodes inserted into the bios. I'll get to it in a few days. It's been a while since I did this so it you find a bios version on the web with the latest microcodes, attach it to this post to make things move quicker.

Turn ON the Intel RAID in the bios and make sure the HD is connected to the Intel SATA ports and not the GSATA ports.  It should recognize your HD correctly with the updated bios. Let's get this working before fixing the microcodes.

I never had to use the backup bios but as I understand the manual, it reverts automatically after an unsuccessful POST attempt. From a Gigabyte manual.

"What is DualBIOS™?
Motherboards that support DualBIOS have two BIOS onboard, a main BIOS and a backup BIOS. Normally, the system works on the main BIOS. However, if the main BIOS is corrupted or damaged, the backup BIOS will take over on the next system boot and copy the BIOS file to the main BIOS to ensure normal system operation. For the sake of system safety, users cannot update the backup BIOS manually"

Looking at the Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR rev 1.0 manual, your MB has dual bios so it's safe if the bios upgrade does not go well.

all right! with the bios I am calm now because I ruined a Xeon E5440 and MSI P45 Diamond mobo Sad  trying to insert the microcode a few months ago, I can't fix it.

I already flashed the bios that you sent and I write to you from that mobo (does not have GSATA).

OK, next step: I'm going to remove all hard drives and try the 3TB only because the system did not detect any HDD in RAID mode, just AHCI or IDE. Should it run the other disks in RAID mode? They are now at AHCI.

Dear gto4ben,

          how are you? I was testing the 3 Tb HDD with games. It seems that I will need the microcodes because I have these (attached) alerts in 2 games.

          Then we need to add the CMP16XCHG16B instructions in the bios that you modified and see if SSE4.1 can be added (if it supports it) and the other error fixed. Do you think it could be possible?
         
          Regards.

I'm very busy this weekend and won't be able to look at the microcodes till next Wednesday at the earliest. Ask me again next Wednesday to remind me.
It's been a while since I performed a microcode update. It's tricky.
find
quote
#25
(10-27-2017, 10:24 PM)gunnard Wrote:
(10-05-2017, 12:48 AM)gunnard Wrote:
(10-04-2017, 10:20 PM)gto4ben Wrote: Coreinfo is reporting that the X5460 does not support
CX16           " -"       Supports CMPXCHG16B instruction.
It would have a "*" if the bios supports. According to CPU-WORLD.com, your processor supports CMP16XCHG16B instructions. Looks like you need the Xeon microcodes inserted into the bios. I'll get to it in a few days. It's been a while since I did this so it you find a bios version on the web with the latest microcodes, attach it to this post to make things move quicker.

Turn ON the Intel RAID in the bios and make sure the HD is connected to the Intel SATA ports and not the GSATA ports.  It should recognize your HD correctly with the updated bios. Let's get this working before fixing the microcodes.

I never had to use the backup bios but as I understand the manual, it reverts automatically after an unsuccessful POST attempt. From a Gigabyte manual.

"What is DualBIOS™?
Motherboards that support DualBIOS have two BIOS onboard, a main BIOS and a backup BIOS. Normally, the system works on the main BIOS. However, if the main BIOS is corrupted or damaged, the backup BIOS will take over on the next system boot and copy the BIOS file to the main BIOS to ensure normal system operation. For the sake of system safety, users cannot update the backup BIOS manually"

Looking at the Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR rev 1.0 manual, your MB has dual bios so it's safe if the bios upgrade does not go well.

all right! with the bios I am calm now because I ruined a Xeon E5440 and MSI P45 Diamond mobo Sad  trying to insert the microcode a few months ago, I can't fix it.

I already flashed the bios that you sent and I write to you from that mobo (does not have GSATA).

OK, next step: I'm going to remove all hard drives and try the 3TB only because the system did not detect any HDD in RAID mode, just AHCI or IDE. Should it run the other disks in RAID mode? They are now at AHCI.

Dear gto4ben,

          how are you? I was testing the 3 Tb HDD with games. It seems that I will need the microcodes because I have these (attached) alerts in 2 games.

          Then we need to add the CMP16XCHG16B instructions in the bios that you modified and see if SSE4.1 can be added (if it supports it) and the other error fixed. Do you think it could be possible?
         
          Regards.

The SSE4.1 instruction appears in CPUWorld:
http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SL/SLBBA.html

This is a view of my CPU-Z analysis:


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
       
find
quote
#26
(10-27-2017, 10:35 PM)gto4ben Wrote:
(10-27-2017, 10:24 PM)gunnard Wrote:
(10-05-2017, 12:48 AM)gunnard Wrote:
(10-04-2017, 10:20 PM)gto4ben Wrote: Coreinfo is reporting that the X5460 does not support
CX16           " -"       Supports CMPXCHG16B instruction.
It would have a "*" if the bios supports. According to CPU-WORLD.com, your processor supports CMP16XCHG16B instructions. Looks like you need the Xeon microcodes inserted into the bios. I'll get to it in a few days. It's been a while since I did this so it you find a bios version on the web with the latest microcodes, attach it to this post to make things move quicker.

Turn ON the Intel RAID in the bios and make sure the HD is connected to the Intel SATA ports and not the GSATA ports.  It should recognize your HD correctly with the updated bios. Let's get this working before fixing the microcodes.

I never had to use the backup bios but as I understand the manual, it reverts automatically after an unsuccessful POST attempt. From a Gigabyte manual.

"What is DualBIOS™?
Motherboards that support DualBIOS have two BIOS onboard, a main BIOS and a backup BIOS. Normally, the system works on the main BIOS. However, if the main BIOS is corrupted or damaged, the backup BIOS will take over on the next system boot and copy the BIOS file to the main BIOS to ensure normal system operation. For the sake of system safety, users cannot update the backup BIOS manually"

Looking at the Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR rev 1.0 manual, your MB has dual bios so it's safe if the bios upgrade does not go well.

all right! with the bios I am calm now because I ruined a Xeon E5440 and MSI P45 Diamond mobo Sad  trying to insert the microcode a few months ago, I can't fix it.

I already flashed the bios that you sent and I write to you from that mobo (does not have GSATA).

OK, next step: I'm going to remove all hard drives and try the 3TB only because the system did not detect any HDD in RAID mode, just AHCI or IDE. Should it run the other disks in RAID mode? They are now at AHCI.

Dear gto4ben,

          how are you? I was testing the 3 Tb HDD with games. It seems that I will need the microcodes because I have these (attached) alerts in 2 games.

          Then we need to add the CMP16XCHG16B instructions in the bios that you modified and see if SSE4.1 can be added (if it supports it) and the other error fixed. Do you think it could be possible?
         
          Regards.

I'm very busy this weekend and won't be able to look at the microcodes till next Wednesday at the earliest. Ask me again next Wednesday to remind me.
It's been a while since I performed a microcode update. It's tricky.

No problem, I understand you, I am also very complicated with time these days. I remind you next week. Thank you!
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 4 Guest(s)