Bios Mods -The Best BIOS Update and Modification Source

Full Version: Unlock Intel HM70 chipset challenge for Core i3 and i5 processors
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
If you upgrade to a Core i3 or i5 with Intels HM70 chipset, Intel have put some kind of timer into the HM70 chipset that counts to exactly 30 minutes and then completely shutdowns down the system, with a complete halt to fully off, and not your normal windows kind of shutdown.

This is not a problem isolated to just my particular make and model of notebook, it affects all HM70 based chipsets

Basically I have tried every tool I can find to avoid the 30 minutes timer from occurring, although no luck yet.

I am here today to ask someone to unlock the BIOS as much as possible for the Compaq CQ45-707TU that I am using in hope to find a solution.

If that can be done then I will spread the word through out various forums where there are many people hoping to beat this.

There could be a option in the BIOS that could be turned off which just might help like the HPET

Strange thing is everyone that has the HM70 know the Core i3 and i5 processors run perfectly without fault, therefore it will be a matter of turn something off, to stop the machine from shutting off very 30 minutes.

If someone can unlock my BIOS, this will be a step to beating Intel's restrictions.

Link to BIOS, this covers many similar models from the Compaq CQ45, HP1000, and HP2000 which all use the same motherboards.

http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp62001-62500/sp62448.exe
The answer for unlocking hm70 is not in bios itself but in management engine interface on the same chip yet another region of it.
(03-25-2014, 06:22 PM)Luka Wrote: [ -> ]The answer for unlocking hm70 is not in bios itself but in management engine interface on the same chip yet another region of it.

What needs to be done to do that ?
(03-25-2014, 06:22 PM)Luka Wrote: [ -> ]The answer for unlocking hm70 is not in bios itself but in management engine interface on the same chip yet another region of it.

Hi,

I am a new member and took me a while to understand what was wrong with my laptop toshiba c850, until I read your post. Thank you for that !!!.
My motherboard was fried and I ordered a used one from a website, the motherboard has exactly the same code as the previous one.
But seems that the used one I got is a HM70 and doesn't support the i3 cpu the previous motherboard had installed.
Not sure if that website tricked me or not, but anyway my question is:

Can I remove the bios from the previous fried HM77 motherboard and add it to the HM70 so to support the i3 cpu?
How can unlock de bios to support i3 processor hm77?
Could any pin modding avoid this shutdown? (i.e. killing/enabling HyperThreading,Turboboost,SpeedStep, or fixing voltage/multiplier...) Or avoiding shutdown by spoofing cpuid via pin modding?
Disable Intel ME via either HAP Bit using Intel Flash Image Tool (FITc), or ME Cleaner (Few options there)

I cannot help with this, only know that's what you need to do, and I advise you order a CH341A flash programmer and SOIC8 test clip cable from ebay and wait until it arrives before you get started (Total cost around $6)
(02-04-2019, 03:19 AM)Lost_N_BIOS Wrote: [ -> ]Disable Intel ME via either HAP Bit using Intel Flash Image Tool (FITc), or ME Cleaner (Few options there)

I cannot help with this, only know that's what you need to do, and I advise you order a CH341A flash programmer and SOIC8 test clip cable from ebay and wait until it arrives before you get started (Total cost around $6)
Oh , killing me firmware (which seems to use equipment  also used for recovering bricked BIOS) does enable working core i3/5/7 on hm70 ?
And...will it enable replacing Sandy cpu to Ivy cpu with microcodes added by tools in ALL sandy motherboards without official ivy BIOS/ME updates?
ME has nothing to do with BIOS/bricked recovery etc. I do not know if it helps with those CPU's, only you can test and that's why I said to order CH341A programmer and SOIC8 test clip cable. This way it's easier to write/re-write any BIOS that you want as a whole with ME set how you want it.

"Sometimes" you can update ME (or not) and use Ivy on SB board/BIOS, but not always. Generally this needs updated by manufacturer, but not always.
Microcode added in can sometimes work by itself, but not always, sometimes you must also update ME version.

DeathBringer will be able to tell you for sure if your chipset/BIOS/ME can support Ivy or not I think, with CPU-z report