Bios Mods -The Best BIOS Update and Modification Source

Full Version: HP Slimline s7727c
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am trying to upgrade CPU support for an HP Slimline s7727c Desktop Computer.
HP Slimline s7727c Desktop Computer. Product number RN655AA
Asus A8N-BR (HP GL8E) motherboard Socket AM2
Phoenix Award BIOS v6.00PG
HP BIOS 5.02 (11/30/2006)
GeForce 6150 LE nforce 430 chipset
BIOS update to 5.03 (09/14/2007)
-adds support for AMD AGESA Version 2.08.00
-resolves issue with SATA optical drives not being detected in
Bootblock mode if AC power loss while flashing BIOS
-updates vBIOS to 5.51.28.50
but disables second SATA controller which I do not want
Would like support for low power AM2+ & AM3 CPU's (ie Phenom 9xxe)
Power supply is upgraded to 270 watt
Microsoft Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2

I found these possibly compatible donor BIOS from Gigabyte
GA-M55plus-S3g(rev 3.0) BIOS F9A 10/22/2008
AM2+/AM3 125 watt CPU's
GA-M61PME-S2P(rev1.3) BIOS F6 11/03/2009 GeForce 6100 nForce 430 chipset
supports pretty much all AM2+/AM3 CPU's

Thanks
Hey man,

I am looking into this and will get back ASAP. Sorry for the delay.

TheWiz
(03-17-2010, 05:18 PM)TheWiz Wrote: [ -> ]Hey man,

I am looking into this and will get back ASAP. Sorry for the delay.

TheWiz

im not one for giving up, but im thinking that this is a Mini-ITX board that will never support more then a 35W processor. not a whole lot you can do....
banana19
if the power supply that is installed now is capable of 270w the issue then becomes regulation and stabilization of delivery to the cpu - is this board incapable of accomplishing this for a 45w of 65w processor?
(03-29-2010, 10:22 AM)cmdrclyde Wrote: [ -> ]banana19
if the power supply that is installed now is capable of 270w the issue then becomes regulation and stabilization of delivery to the cpu - is this board incapable of accomplishing this for a 45w of 65w processor?

all you can really do is try it, however I am leaning towards no....

its a special board that uses a very specific processor. It looks like HP actually purchased the entire initial run of 35W X2's from AMD just for this motherboard.

Nick
To update my progress currently I tried an Athlon II x4 (605e 45w TDP) without success - black screen and no post beeps