Bios Mods -The Best BIOS Update and Modification Source

Full Version: [Request] Dell Dimension 5100 "Incompatible Processor" Warning
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi....My first post ...so take it easy !! Shy

Upgraded to a 945 Dual Core CPU  in a Dell Dimension 5100 ....and now have to press the F1 key to get past the "Incompatible Processor" warning..
Is there a bios mod to bypass the F1 key pressing !!!???

I've updated to bios A03.

Link to bios http://downloads.dell.com/bios/D5100A03.EXE
Show screnshots of CPU-Z (CPU and Mainboard tabs). What is old CPU?
[attachment=9426 Wrote:DeathBringer pid='100192' dateline='1443683193']Show screnshots of CPU-Z (CPU and Mainboard tabs). What is old CPU?

Here's the screen shots

[attachment=9426]

[attachment=9427]

[attachment=9432]



Old cpu was pentium 4 541



Sorry I can't update microcodes in this BIOS.
(10-01-2015, 02:28 PM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry I can't update microcodes in this BIOS.
Thanks for your time DeathBringer...
Can I ask,is it because its a Dell bios,and hard to get into ??
Is it unlikely that anyone else will be able to mod ??
In this BIOS microcodes aren't placed in the standard form.
(10-01-2015, 03:08 PM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]In this BIOS microcodes aren't placed in the standard form.
Thanks for your time.....Looks like I'll have to stick with single core Confused
No, if Windows boot then it'll update microcode itself (until restarting). Just press F1 to boot dual core processor.
(10-03-2015, 06:10 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]No, if Windows boot then it'll update microcode itself (until restarting). Just press F1 to boot dual core processor.

I understand that...but I wanted to sell the PC...which I can't if you have to press the f1 key at every start/restart  Sad
You have commercial purposes, so you must pay for the help.
I help solve personal problems only!