Bios Mods -The Best BIOS Update and Modification Source

Full Version: precision 670
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

  I just got done adding cpu support to my BIOS hdr file. Got everything how i think i need it, header, microcode its all where it needs to be. Before i try it i have to fix the check sum. Problem is, that i have never done anything with the checksum. Can some please tell me if there is a step by step guide for this?
I can't make "a step by step guide", but I can make you need mod.
I've analysed latest BIOS (A7) for DELL Precision 670 and found block of microcode on offset=0x4C725 of hdr-file.
Code:
CPUID Offset Core     (Stepping)
0F34  003A   Nocona   (D0)
0F41  1C0A   Nocona   (E0)
0F42  2FDA   Nocona   (G0)
0F49  3BAA   Nocona   (G1)
0F48  437A   Paxville (A0)
0F43  4F4A   Irwindale(N0)  
0F4A  571A   Irwindale(R0)
What's CPU you want to add? Only one dual core CPU is supported by E7525 chipset - Xeon with Sspec=SL8MA (2.80 GHz).
(05-29-2016, 12:58 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]I can't make "a step by step guide", but I can make you need mod.
I've analysed latest BIOS (A7) for DELL Precision 670 and found block of microcode on offset=0x4C725 of hdr-file.
Code:
CPUID Offset Core (Stepping)
0F34 003A Nocona (D0)
0F41 1C0A Nocona (E0)
0F42 2FDA Nocona (G0)
0F49 3BAA Nocona (G1)
0F48 437A Paxville (A0)
0F43 4F4A Irwindale(N0)
0F4A 571A Irwindale(R0)
What's CPU you want to add? Only one dual core CPU is supported by E7525 chipset - Xeon with Sspec=SL8MA (2.80 GHz).

I sent you a copy of the HDR to your email. I think the modding is done, all but the checksum. You already had me on the right path as far as the mod went.
I didn't received "a copy of the HDR" from you. Is it pure theoretical mod?
the two processors i have on hand that i would like to try are 7140's sorry if i seemed impolite dude
Replace 4 bytes in your file on offset 0x70054:
7C E0 DC E7
with
0C 0B 3D 6B
But adding microcode don't add support for new CPU to the chipset.
(05-30-2016, 01:36 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]Replace 4 bytes in your file on offset 0x70054:
7C E0 DC E7
with
0C 0B 3D 6B
But adding microcode don't add support for new CPU to the chipset.

I do understand exactly what your saying. I have been comparing data sheets and I can clearly see a difference between the dp and mp pin layout. Thank you for working on the checksum I will try it later.
(05-30-2016, 09:55 AM)boilermaker8162 Wrote: [ -> ]
(05-30-2016, 01:36 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]Replace 4 bytes in your file on offset 0x70054:
7C E0 DC E7
with
0C 0B 3D 6B
But adding microcode don't add support for new CPU to the chipset.

I do understand exactly what your saying. I have been comparing data sheets and I can clearly see a difference between the dp and mp pin layout. Thank you for working on the checksum I will try it later.

Extreemly happy my hex editing worked, at the same time it would have been nice if the 7140's would have worked also. The pin layout makes it impossible for the 7140 to communicate with the board. An adapter would be nice. Thank you very much for the help!