Bios Mods -The Best BIOS Update and Modification Source

Full Version: Xeon L5408 Support Request [Dell Vostro 230 MOBO]
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, I have gotten the mod working, and am able to run DOS, etc, and managed to even flash the most updated version of the bios using a DOS bootable drive, however I cannot seem to boot any gui windows or linux installer or live bootable CD. I believe this is some form a microcode issue, as it does not always pass self diagnostics, but sometimes will just crash running the built in "Diagnostics..." option from the boot menu. Is anyone willing to update the bios file for me so it has the proper microcode for this CPU?
Tell sSpec of your new CPU.
Flash back native BIOS. Do Windows loads with new CPU? If it does then post a screenshot of regedit with expanded key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0
Post a screenshot third (Mainboard) tab of CPU-Z with any CPU.
Give me link to your BIOS mod.
Not using a mod, just a regular update for the vostro 230.version 1.4.0. No luck booting anything but DOS. Will get sSpec later today.
(09-29-2016, 08:12 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]I've made new mod of BIOS with updated microcode.

I sent you a PM with details of how it went
Did you flashed my mod by running run_dos.bat?
And I need other requested information (sSpec & screenshots).
Have you other Xeon 5400 series?
Did you tried to boot new CPU with other graphics card (not intergraded)?
(10-02-2016, 12:40 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]Did you flashed my mod by running run_dos.bat?
And I need other requested information (sSpec & screenshots).
Have you other Xeon 5400 series?
Did you tried to boot new CPU with other graphics card (not intergraded)?

I did not flash it with run_dos.bat. Used AFUDOS.exe with the rom file. However, looking at the batch file, it appears I should have used that instead. I will go back and try that. Tried that, it says that the bios version is the same or newer than the version i am trying to flash it and doesnt flash
Make BIOS backup by Universal BIOS Backup ToolKit 2.0.
And I still need answers on my other questions.
(10-02-2016, 10:25 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]Make BIOS backup by Universal BIOS Backup ToolKit 2.0.
And I still need answers on my other questions.

sspec is SLAP5
(10-02-2016, 10:25 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: [ -> ]Make BIOS backup by Universal BIOS Backup ToolKit 2.0.
And I still need answers on my other questions.

I am installing windows XP using the celeron that came with it, then i will get you screenshots from cpuz as well as make a bios backup
Pages: 1 2