Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
Core2Extreme X9000 running amazing on an...
Last Post: HENK2077
Today 05:13 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 934
[REQUEST] Medion Akoya P7624 (MD 98920) ...
Last Post: Supremeas
Today 03:05 PM
» Replies: 21
» Views: 3616
[REQUEST] Acer Predator Helios 300 PH315...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 03:05 PM
» Replies: 27
» Views: 6953
ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO -> i5-4570TE
Last Post: tupacamaru
Today 02:35 PM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 0
[Lenovo Thinkbook G2 ARE] What parameter...
Last Post: paretano
Today 11:09 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
CLEVO BIOS Mods
Last Post: Asd9001
Today 07:09 AM
» Replies: 241
» Views: 411438
[REQUEST] Lenovo G50-80 (B0CNxxWW) White...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 03:23 AM
» Replies: 103
» Views: 27411
CH341A Programs Correctly but BIOS Still...
Last Post: shuten
Today 01:47 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
FPT version for Q85 chipset (Lenovo M83)
Last Post: Maxinator500
Yesterday 10:10 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 0
Asus P5VD2-VM SE Q6600, microcode update
Last Post: jollystukas
Yesterday 07:04 PM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Dell Alienware 14 (2013) White...
Last Post: states_credits_03
Yesterday 04:39 PM
» Replies: 22
» Views: 6620
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad T540p (GMETxxW...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 02:57 PM
» Replies: 101
» Views: 32928
[AMIBCP] Tuning "MSI PRO B550M-P GEN3" b...
Last Post: Rck
Yesterday 12:57 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
Helios 300 ph317-54 unlock request
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 12:47 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 405
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN515-54 BIOS Unl...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 08:19 AM
» Replies: 93
» Views: 20875
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad X201 (6QETxxWW...
Last Post: Popeye2
Yesterday 07:31 AM
» Replies: 63
» Views: 23001
[REQUEST] Bios Unlock Asus ROG GL552VW
Last Post: feluchi
Yesterday 03:47 AM
» Replies: 200
» Views: 59313
Activating graphics on the CPU.Motherboa...
Last Post: Ris16
12-04-2022 08:04 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire V3-772G BIOS Unloc...
Last Post: Sergey1736456
12-04-2022 03:31 PM
» Replies: 655
» Views: 150547
Request; H310b Chinese Mainboard
Last Post: rain_vich
12-04-2022 12:56 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0

Run BIOS at QEMU
#1
Good day.
I have the task of run real BIOS at QEMU. I set Q35 motherboards BIOS instead of seabios. QEMU made a few hundreds or thousands instructions and hang up during IO ports initialization.
Is somebody do something like this?

P.S.I use QEMU with Intel Q35 chipset support.
find
quote
#2
I am very well aware that this is an old topic, but I keep getting google results to this exact thread.
And maybe this might be usefull or well known already:

Qemu stands for Quick Emulator.
To run some Bioses in qemu use a variant of:
Code:
qemu-system-i386.exe -M pc -bios "C:\Users\nicov\Desktop\ROMDump\bios test\final.bin"


[Image: SOH3oeO.png]

For linux:
Code:
qemu-system-i386 -M pc -bios ~/qemu/bios.bin

change the M option (Machine) to match your bioses hardware more closely. in my case, an old "Award BootBlock Bios v1.0" was not happy with q35 nor with plain isapc.

An empty machine does not contain anything, no cpu, no isa or pci busses. I think the purpose of that is to run bare code on a specific CPU if you specify one.

Together with GDB or an other debugger you might be able to step, trace and walk in your dumped bios. but this is "advanced" debugging, and Ill asume you are capable of doing so yourself.

I dislike threads popping up with no usufull replies and I do have an answer for it. (The rules dont state I cant or shouldn't necrobump threads) Hope this helps or give someone a helpfull idea. Also, if you dump a PowerPC firmware, you can run that too Wink just try qemu-system-ppc or qemu-system-ppc64 Wink

Have a good and awesome day Big Grin
www find
quote
#3
Quote:you might be able to step, trace and walk
But what can I do when getting request on hardware registers not described in datasheet? Or it have another dependence factor.

Bios ASUS AT5NM10T-I, AMI post code 1A(check refresh timings?): used hpet timer, MCHBAR Registers 0x5D8, 0x561+4*x, word 0x58C, 0x248, r/w to/from ram address 0x0 to for set 0x560+4*x, x=0-7 - need trying emulated this?
So in Emulator skips very specified things, like chipset fsb strap, any info about MCHBAR Register 0x0C00 do you seeing anywhere ? Also skipped clockgen, sio with hw monitoring, smbus, internal vga card, spi flash ... even cmos in bochs was 128 byte.
Quote:I have the task of run real BIOS at QEMU.
Possible only with skip some code and might change registers values.
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)