Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[Request] Thunderobot Zero
Last Post: genius239
Today 06:58 AM
» Replies: 36
» Views: 2674
Adding processor microcode (cpuid) to th...
Last Post: puchpunk
Today 06:27 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 108
[REQUEST] Lenovo G50-70 (9ACNxxWW) White...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 06:24 AM
» Replies: 240
» Views: 43945
[Request] Asus S512JP Bios Unlock
Last Post: Paolo7297
Today 05:30 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 144
Request for Memory no memory detected er...
Last Post: H@cK_T7910
Today 01:54 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 442
[Request] Samsung Series 7 Slate PC
Last Post: SwCore
Today 12:02 AM
» Replies: 14
» Views: 12995
[Request] Unlock TVS-672XT AMI Bios
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 10:49 PM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 213
[Request] fujitsu siemens esprimo q5030 ...
Last Post: Dark_Dancer
Yesterday 09:50 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 391
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN515-55 BIOS Unl...
Last Post: baksio45
Yesterday 05:18 PM
» Replies: 84
» Views: 12319
[REQUEST] Lenovo B590 (H9ETxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: filet13
Yesterday 03:33 PM
» Replies: 747
» Views: 102439
Gigabyte X79-UD3 1.0 support for E5-2670...
Last Post: DeathBringer
Yesterday 02:10 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 175
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (62CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 10:26 AM
» Replies: 810
» Views: 169716
Asus K43SJ processor upgrade question
Last Post: mrusydax
Yesterday 09:13 AM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 5289
[REQUEST] Eglobal S210H BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 07:36 AM
» Replies: 102
» Views: 8109
[REQUEST] Asus FX504GE BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 07:33 AM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 1455
Gateway M-6337 BIOS Mod & Help Reducing ...
Last Post: Sml6397
Yesterday 04:21 AM
» Replies: 21
» Views: 438
ECS MB40IA1 bios unlock request
Last Post: Sml6397
Yesterday 03:45 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 4389
[REQUEST] HP Erica6 AMI bios 8906 vF.03
Last Post: Sml6397
Yesterday 03:21 AM
» Replies: 16
» Views: 1559
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z70-80 (ABCNxxWW) White...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 01:35 AM
» Replies: 46
» Views: 6436
[REQUEST] Lenovo IdeaPad L340 (BGCNxxWW)...
Last Post: tamer3009
10-14-2021 08:12 PM
» Replies: 23
» Views: 3398

HP BOSTON MS-7525 Xeon MOD Success
#21
(10-07-2016, 05:11 PM)Loyal986 Wrote: I had this board but with and intel pentium dual core. Decided to buy an xeon but found out it wont work. With the help of DeathBringer the board accepted the CPU. DeathBringer Moded the bios and the bios file can be found here:

This is my very first 775 to 771 Xeon mod, and I must say that it was a breeze. 

I had updated the an BIOS from HP's driver site initially (Compaq SR5410F) for the MS-7525 (Boston) motherboard after updating it with the Intel microcodes from delidded.com, but the motherboard shut down within seconds.  After updating the BIOS with the attached version in this thread to 5.31 from 5.22, it booted right into Windows (it worked) !!!   Heart Tongue Smile Big Grin  

Going from a 1.8 GHz Dual core Pentium to a 3.0GHz 4-core Xeon is like night and day.  Time to go get a new cpu cooler to seal the deal!  

Many thanks to you and DeathBringer for making this BIOS mod available for those who dare to upgrade their old Core 2 CPUs to Xeons, breathing life into an otherwise lifeless computer.  

  Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin
find
quote
#22
so for a xenon CPU to work in MS 7525 i just need to flash the modded bios?
find
quote
#23
scarlet_rook_4, yes
find
quote
#24
Thank you.
find
quote
#25
do I need to physically modify the chip like sticking a tape and cutting the notches on motherboard the socket?
find
quote
#26
Read this - https://www.delidded.com/lga-771-to-775-adapter/
Or buy modded CPU like this:
[Image: INTEL-XEON-E5450-3-0GHz-12M-1333Mhz-CPU-...50-CPU.jpg]
find
quote
#27
Hi, Will the X5470 work on this HP Boston MS-7525?
find
quote
#28
BIOloveS, yes
find
quote
#29
(04-25-2018, 01:54 AM)DeathBringer Wrote: BIOloveS, yes

Thank you so much!
find
quote
#30
Tried to install, and it's giving me an error. Something along the lines of "Product number doesn't match" or whatever (I'm sorry, I'm very tired and so I'm not thinking quite straight)

Now, it is a ms-7525 ver1.0 board, but it came out of a compaq presario sr5410f. And I'm currently running revision 5.0.1. Do I need to find a later revision? Or is it to do with mine being compaq instead of hp branded? Or am I just doing something wrong?
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)