Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Lenovo Legion 5 (EFCNxxWW) BIO...
Last Post: moto7198712
Today 02:50 AM
» Replies: 36
» Views: 9771
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) BIOS Un...
Last Post: ijomon07
Today 12:10 AM
» Replies: 325
» Views: 115791
Dell Latitude D530 with GM965 - Need hel...
Last Post: fuzz200
Yesterday 07:41 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
Pentium E5800 on MS-7255
Last Post: Dolenc
Yesterday 06:02 PM
» Replies: 18
» Views: 2650
Asus P5VD2-VM SE Q6600, microcode update
Last Post: DeathBringer
Yesterday 12:31 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y400 & Y500 (6BCNxxWW) ...
Last Post: danilaalfa
Yesterday 12:18 PM
» Replies: 184
» Views: 50427
REQUEST - ASUS F515EP Bios unlock/advanc...
Last Post: dre9and1
Yesterday 12:14 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
Activating graphics on the CPU.Motherboa...
Last Post: Ris16
Yesterday 10:25 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
[Unlocked, sp54724] HP Dv6-6135dx [amd]
Last Post: Maxinator500
Yesterday 09:59 AM
» Replies: 120
» Views: 144226
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z50-70 & Z40-70 (9BCNxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 03:50 AM
» Replies: 837
» Views: 176888
Long-shot help request on recovering a b...
Last Post: surfrock66
Yesterday 01:35 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Clevo NP70hp BIOS Unlock
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-02-2022 03:50 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Lenovo G480 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: AscottRio
12-02-2022 10:12 AM
» Replies: 124
» Views: 41160
[REQUEST] Lenovo B590 (H9ETxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Jaroslaw
12-02-2022 06:17 AM
» Replies: 797
» Views: 155190
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z50-70 & Z40-70 (9BCNxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-02-2022 05:30 AM
» Replies: 303
» Views: 85410
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad T430 (G1ETxxWW...
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-02-2022 05:27 AM
» Replies: 691
» Views: 300857
[REQUEST] Packard Bell TM85
Last Post: Ris16
12-02-2022 04:33 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 956
Software that changes the CPU frequency ...
Last Post: evelinchamplin
12-02-2022 12:16 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 0
help on where to download...
Last Post: evelinchamplin
12-01-2022 10:59 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 4234
GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 (rev. 1.3) Add TPM?
Last Post: UKRobbie
12-01-2022 07:42 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0

Inspiron n7110 4-Core support
#1
Hello all,

I currently possess a Dell Inspiron n7110 with an i5, and the chipset is an HM67. I also have in my possession an i7-2670QM processor, which I intended to install since the HM67 chipset supports 4-core processors. However, when I booted it I only had 1 core. The BIOS showed the correct processor but alas, something was amiss. The motherboard model is an 07830J, with no 4-core support, and an 0XMP5X, which does support 4 cores.

I can't find any answers as to whether or not it's just a locked BIOS or if the motherboard itself doesn't have the right mojo. I cannot find a specific XMP5X BIOS , however my google-fu may not be up to par.

If someone would be willing to accept this challenge, I would be forever in your debt. I used the unlocked UEFI A13 BIOS from this site, if you need the BIOS file. If you need my specific one, let me know.
find
quote
#2
Post a screenshot of Mainboard tab of CPU-Z.
find
quote
#3
Here's the BIOS I used:

https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-B...-UEFI-BOOT
   
Screenshot included.
find
quote
#4
You motherboard already has support of i7-2670QM - https://browser.geekbench.com/geekbench2/2337831
find
quote
#5
A lot of sources I found when researching upgrade options told me that as well, but when installed it runs on 1 core only. When I get time I will reinstall the i7 and take screens. Thanks for taking a look.

If you wish to delete this no worries.
find
quote
#6
Install your i7-2670QM.
Flash original BIOS.
Go to BIOS and do Load Defaults, save and reboot.
Make TXT-report of CPU-Z, zip it and attach to this topic.
Run msconfig.exe, go to tab Boot, click BOOT Advanced options button, make a screenshot.
find
quote
#7
It makes little sense, but it is now working. When I installed it with the stock BIOS it only used 1 core. After I installed the UEFI A13 BIOS Mod on this site it works fine. It will probably overheat but it is working properly. Thanks for your attention, I've perused this site extensively and you do SO MUCH for people here. I see you.
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 4 Guest(s)