Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire V3-772G BIOS Unloc...
Last Post: Sergey1736456
Yesterday 11:57 PM
» Replies: 656
» Views: 150547
[Unlock Request] & Bios Issue Resolve fo...
Last Post: Maxinator500
Yesterday 11:48 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 0
Activating graphics on the CPU.Motherboa...
Last Post: Ris16
Yesterday 08:04 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 0
Request; H310b Chinese Mainboard
Last Post: rain_vich
Yesterday 12:56 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Asus GL703GM BIOS Unlock
Last Post: eolus72
Yesterday 12:09 PM
» Replies: 31
» Views: 3436
[REQUEST] Bios Unlock Asus ROG GL552VW
Last Post: Aemaeth
Yesterday 11:28 AM
» Replies: 199
» Views: 59313
[REQUEST] Unlock bios Machenike S15
Last Post: Bulnazavr
Yesterday 08:23 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
[Solved] Gigabyte 8I865GME-775-RH (rev. ...
Last Post: Dolenc
Yesterday 07:10 AM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 457
[REQUEST] Lenovo Legion 5 (EFCNxxWW) BIO...
Last Post: moto7198712
Yesterday 02:50 AM
» Replies: 36
» Views: 9771
[Request] Dell Latitude D530 Intel T9x00...
Last Post: fuzz200
12-03-2022 07:41 PM
» Replies: 100
» Views: 22581
Asus P5VD2-VM SE Q6600, microcode update
Last Post: DeathBringer
12-03-2022 12:31 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y400 & Y500 (6BCNxxWW) ...
Last Post: danilaalfa
12-03-2022 12:18 PM
» Replies: 184
» Views: 50427
REQUEST - ASUS F515EP Bios unlock/advanc...
Last Post: dre9and1
12-03-2022 12:14 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
[Unlocked, sp54724] HP Dv6-6135dx [amd]
Last Post: Maxinator500
12-03-2022 09:59 AM
» Replies: 120
» Views: 144226
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z50-70 & Z40-70 (9BCNxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-03-2022 03:50 AM
» Replies: 837
» Views: 176888
Long-shot help request on recovering a b...
Last Post: surfrock66
12-03-2022 01:35 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Clevo NP70hp BIOS Unlock
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-02-2022 03:50 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Lenovo G480 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: AscottRio
12-02-2022 10:12 AM
» Replies: 124
» Views: 41160
[REQUEST] Lenovo B590 (H9ETxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Jaroslaw
12-02-2022 06:17 AM
» Replies: 797
» Views: 155190
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z50-70 & Z40-70 (9BCNxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-02-2022 05:30 AM
» Replies: 303
» Views: 85410

MEMINIT.BIN
#1
I have noticed that inside MEMINIT.BIN, it has a string that references the AGESA version. If one is to update the AGESA code, does MEMINIT have to be updated, too? Is the MEMINIT module independent from the board it is installed on? ie, interchangeable with other boards?
find
#2
this is very interesting and could possibly be why some of our CPU Support mods havent worked , i will be looking into this! Big Grin

Thank you for your help!

Admin
find
#3
I am trying to get the latest AGESA code into my Gigabyte BIOS (Socket AM2, M61P-S3), but unfortunately it only has a 512KB FLASH and the new AGESA + MEMINIT is over by less than 1KB Sad

I have a version where I've disabled the NV RAID feature via MODBIN and removed the NVRAID PCI BIOS to make room. We'll see if it works when I get my EPROM programmer (bricked my MB yesterday, OOPS!)

The donor BIOS is from another Gigabyte board with the same chipset. The ACPI table is 2K smaller...I'm not sure what to think about that. Have you found that using the ACPI table from the donor BIOS is necessary? It may free up enough space.
find
#4
I have been doing extensive research in the matter and I have concluded a couple things. Think of the AGESA as a library, that contains all of the books on the shelves. But how do you know where to find you books without an OPAC or a method of finding the books with a call number. Tthis is where the MEMINIT as well as the CPUCODE.BIN come into play. The meminit doesnt necesarily always have to be upgraded, but in the AMD series boards its what sets the Hyper Transport between the memory and CPU, as well as other memory architecture settings, so most of the time youll need this. Then you deal with the CPU microcode strings, which call the proccessor information from the AGESA table. Without this updated, it will be as if you've done nothing. If you read Presola's thread, youll see we simply upgraded the AGESA ROM only, and it did nothing because you can add books to a library, but if you still only know where the old ones are, then you dont know that new ones are there. Yoyu can customize the AGESA ROMS so they include the CPU code you need to save space. The latest version 3.5.3.1 is like 37KB (YIKES!) but some older versions have the support without the extra baggage.

Hope this helps,
TheWiz
www find
#5
Well I have resurrected my board after a bad flash. I had to solder leads to the chip (there is no SPI header) and build a small circuit and parallel port cable. I used the SPIPGM utility to do the programming.

I tried the experimental BIOS mentioned in my previous post and it did not work -- the board would not POST at all. Perhaps it needed the update ACPI tables. I am done for now in attempting to upgrade this board because it is such a pain to fix if it won't boot. I may try again later if I can figure out a easier way to reprogram if an experimental BIOS doesn't work.
find


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)