Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Acer Predator Helios 300 PH315...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 02:39 AM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 3324
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire 5735(Z) & 5335 BIO...
Last Post: emudem
Yesterday 04:39 PM
» Replies: 64
» Views: 17505
WHITELIST REMOVAL REQUEST for bios sp976...
Last Post: Maxinator500
Yesterday 04:18 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 76
[SOLVED] HP Pavilion ZD8000 BIOS RAM Lim...
Last Post: k24a1
Yesterday 01:29 PM
» Replies: 52
» Views: 19541
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z50-70 & Z40-70 (9BCNxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 12:47 PM
» Replies: 777
» Views: 139087
[REQUEST] Memory Timing and Voltage Over...
Last Post: shoen
Yesterday 12:28 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 66
[Request] Lenovo Ideapad Yoga 13 (20175)...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 11:35 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 782
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad X240 (GIETxxWW...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 11:33 AM
» Replies: 366
» Views: 89226
[REQUEST] Yoga 370 Laptop Type 20JJ - RE...
Last Post: BIOSUSER50
Yesterday 08:37 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 55
[REQUEST] Unlock Gateway DX4860 (H67, LG...
Last Post: Billy Jenkis
Yesterday 07:37 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 179
[REQUEST] Asus ROG Strix GL702ZC BIOS Un...
Last Post: Roland83
Yesterday 07:04 AM
» Replies: 147
» Views: 50493
[REQUEST] Thinkpad T440(s) - Whitelist, ...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 06:53 AM
» Replies: 54
» Views: 20298
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire 4738(G,Z) BIOS Unl...
Last Post: yiyileniabc
Yesterday 06:30 AM
» Replies: 52
» Views: 10420
[Request] Thunderobot Zero
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 05:57 AM
» Replies: 92
» Views: 13067
[REQUEST] BIOS Unlock ASUS X550IK / K550...
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 05:44 AM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 1612
[REQUEST] Lenovo Z70-80 (ABCNxxWW) White...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 05:33 AM
» Replies: 50
» Views: 7843
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y50-70 (9ECNxxWW) BIOS ...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 05:28 AM
» Replies: 2305
» Views: 546620
[REQUEST] HP Pavilion dv6t-3100 CTO Ente...
Last Post: Gh0$t
Yesterday 12:53 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 99
Intel T9550 for Dell Inspiron 1420
Last Post: Inspiron1420user
01-18-2022 09:00 PM
» Replies: 25
» Views: 858
[REQUEST] Lenovo Flex 2-15 (A0CNxxWW) Wh...
Last Post: adnanidani
01-18-2022 08:14 PM
» Replies: 411
» Views: 77473

need some help with computrace
#1
i bought a Dell Studio 1555 Laptop in Craigslist like 4 months ago, the other day i was looking into the bios and Computrace is active, and the only way to turn it off is if the original person that subscribe to their service contact the company and ask them to disable it, can somebody remove/reset computrace from my bios or tell me how to turn it off, i flashed my bios to the latest version and is still active, thanks i will really appreciate your help

i know my laptop wasn't reported stolen because is been 4 months

sorry if i am posting in the wrong section

link for the bios http://support.dell.com/support/download...px?os=W764&catid=-1&dateid=-1&impid=-1&osl=EN&typeid=-1&formatid=-1&servicetag=&SystemID=STUDIO1555&hidos=WLH&hidlang=en&TabIndex=&scanSupported=True&scanConsent=False
find
quote
#2
Computrace is basically an added option rom to the bios so in theory it should be possible to remove.

However i cant rebuild the bios after taking it out , contacted my co -admin

i appreciate your patience

Regards
Admin

find
quote
#3
(09-14-2010, 08:18 AM)1234s282 Wrote: Computrace is basically an added option rom to the bios so in theory it should be possible to remove.

However i cant rebuild the bios after taking it out , contacted my co -admin

i appreciate your patience

Regards
Admin
sorry for sending you a PM i thought this was about my bios (Moderation positions available. Please PM me if you are interested.)

thanks for helping me out, if you can remove the Computrace rom and rebuild the bios without problems let me know, thank you

find
quote
#4
looking in google i found this about how to reset computrace in the bios

-----
This time we would use EE-VALUE that allows to set a value directly on the BIOS NVRAM (not sure about CMOS of NVRAM but anyways…) and looking at different values I finally found (using EE-VALUE /D to display contents) that there was a strange value at offset 0×50.

Using

EE-VALUE /W=50,FF
will reset it to default and then you will be able to select or disable it again.

If you have any doubt or if you have a different laptop check first with

EE-VALUE /D
and try to find any “03″ (activated) or strange value around 0×50.
-----

but my problem is that when i run EE-VALUE /D i get this error (fatal error, failed to read value from serial EEPROM at address 00), im using SVCTAG version 3.3

maybe if somebody can read the value of my bios eeprom and tell me what offset to reset i don't need to flash my bios, thanks
find
quote
#5
if somebody knows of any tool to erase the EEPROM of my Studio 1555 please let me know

i did change the service tag but didn't erase the EEPROM

thanks
find
quote
#6
i guess it isn't possible, maybe in the future this can be done if some new bios tools leak from Dell or Phoenix
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)