Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] HP Erica6 AMI bios 8906 vF.03
Last Post: Sml6397
Today 08:51 PM
» Replies: 17
» Views: 1576
Gigabyte X79-UD3 1.0 support for E5-2670...
Last Post: Cyon
Today 04:41 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 204
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 02:58 PM
» Replies: 1996
» Views: 380069
[Request] Thunderobot Zero
Last Post: ZamirKM
Today 02:18 PM
» Replies: 38
» Views: 2797
[Request] Unlock TVS-672XT AMI Bios
Last Post: Sml6397
Today 01:57 PM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 275
[REQUEST] Acer Predator Helios 300 PH315...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 12:09 PM
» Replies: 48
» Views: 13749
Adding processor microcode (cpuid) to th...
Last Post: puchpunk
Today 09:26 AM
» Replies: 12
» Views: 200
[REQUEST] Lenovo G50-70 (9ACNxxWW) White...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 06:24 AM
» Replies: 240
» Views: 44159
[Request] Asus S512JP Bios Unlock
Last Post: Paolo7297
Today 05:30 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 177
Request for Memory no memory detected er...
Last Post: H@cK_T7910
Today 01:54 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 470
[Request] Samsung Series 7 Slate PC
Last Post: SwCore
Today 12:02 AM
» Replies: 14
» Views: 13026
[Request] fujitsu siemens esprimo q5030 ...
Last Post: Dark_Dancer
Yesterday 09:50 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 407
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN515-55 BIOS Unl...
Last Post: baksio45
Yesterday 05:18 PM
» Replies: 84
» Views: 12458
[REQUEST] Lenovo B590 (H9ETxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: filet13
Yesterday 03:33 PM
» Replies: 747
» Views: 102694
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (62CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 10:26 AM
» Replies: 810
» Views: 169995
Asus K43SJ processor upgrade question
Last Post: mrusydax
Yesterday 09:13 AM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 5307
[REQUEST] Eglobal S210H BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 07:36 AM
» Replies: 102
» Views: 8174
[REQUEST] Asus FX504GE BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 07:33 AM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 1470
Gateway M-6337 BIOS Mod & Help Reducing ...
Last Post: Sml6397
Yesterday 04:21 AM
» Replies: 21
» Views: 462
ECS MB40IA1 bios unlock request
Last Post: Sml6397
Yesterday 03:45 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 4391

Replace BIOS logo with Apple logo
#1
Question 
Could someone please change the BIOS logo from Compaq to Apple logo? There has been a huge topic on this and successful but for some reason I can not on my own and they edited a different model so it wont work for my laptop.

I have a Compaq Presario V6000 and using Phoenix BIOS Editor Pro, I can make all changes but once I rebuild the BIOS file nothing is changed once I reopen or even flash the file as if I made no changes at all.

Im very educated on these matters so I have no idea what im doing wrong other than to assume its Windows 8 that is stopping something.

If someone can please do this for me I would be grateful.

BIOS File:

.zip   30B7F43.zip (Size: 607 KB / Downloads: 36)

Logo image:

.bmp   BIOS_LOGO.bmp (Size: 33.74 KB / Downloads: 79)

Proven ROM (Apple Logo) - not for my model

.zip   30BBF29-APPLE.zip (Size: 688.72 KB / Downloads: 48)

Thank you!
find
quote
#2
(04-26-2014, 11:13 PM)WiiLF Wrote: Could someone please change the BIOS logo from Compaq to Apple logo? There has been a huge topic on this and successful but for some reason I can not on my own and they edited a different model so it wont work for my laptop.

I have a Compaq Presario V6000 and using Phoenix BIOS Editor Pro, I can make all changes but once I rebuild the BIOS file nothing is changed once I reopen or even flash the file as if I made no changes at all.

Im very educated on these matters so I have no idea what im doing wrong other than to assume its Windows 8 that is stopping something.

If someone can please do this for me I would be grateful.

BIOS File:

Logo image:

Proven ROM (Apple Logo) - not for my model

Thank you!

I have found this :

If You follow this suggest I think You will get your mod :


I want to replace SCN2_00.BMP as this is the one displayed by widescreen Compaq laptop.
Because the widescreen HP version (SCN1_00.BMP) and 4:3 logos (all in the same biosfile) are of different dimentions
I deduct that the size does not really matter, as long as it is reasonable (with 200% od original size).

Just to conclude my thread for those looking for such info in the future:
Using Phoenix Bios Editor 2.2.0.1, I managed to change the logo to a custom made one of different dimentions and it worked like a charm.
It was a regular HP/Compaq laptop bios.


Phoenix way to save modded bios:

- Open bios.wph or bios.rom with Phoenix BIOS Editor

- The bios will be decompressed, all parts are in Phoenix BIOS Editor\TEMP folder now, (You can open them with winhex to edit)

- Let do your mods (change Logo SPLASH-Screen, etc.)

- To enable save button (now is gray) change something random in Phoenix BIOS Editor and restore its original value (e.g. a word)

- Save bios and check log for errors

If the bios shows log errors on rebuild, be careful testing.

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads...-boot-logo

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads...en-in-BIOS

Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#3
Appreciate reply. I have performed all of this. I have tried replacing boot logo contents in /TEMP and rebuilt BIOS and save to new file and no changes are reflected at all. That is the problem, nothing is actually being saved into the BIOS file.

I have also extensively used Andy P's Phoenix/Dell/EFI SLIC Tool - 2.50
and can extract full dump to /DUMP but again I cant view contents as it adds 4 byte header or something, to each extracted file so viewers cant find any images or string contained.

This is getting so complicated and ridiculous and I am almost certain its my Windows 8 64-bit environment because im reading about 64-bit conflict with PBE as well as CBROM198 spikes CPU and hangs when I throw command to view BIOS contents so that isnt a option anymore. Has to be major conflict in both PBE and all other tools im using. This is why I really wanted someone to try and see if they can update the file for me. I am not flashing anything I receive I want to open the files and confirm successful import of new logo before considering anything.

I've seen tutorials on youtube, all discussions elsewhere and absolutely no issues on their end. For me.. it has to be my OS. And I have no other options. Can someone please quickly try this for me.

Problem:
Phoenix BIOS Editor Pro reads BIOS File. I insert new compatible logos. Emulate displays changes fine. Rebuild BIOS. Reopen modified file, not a single thing was saved prior.

Tried:
CBROM198 - Spikes CPU and hangs. Nothing is read.
Phoenix BIOS Editor - already explained. Have tried everything.
Pheonix/Dell/EFI SLIC Mod 2.50 - Extracts BIOS contents, cant access for image replacement.

All tools used are run as Administrator and eventually changed compatibility mode, still no change. UAC shut off long before starting this.

What is wrong?
find
quote
#4
I wrote :

- To enable save button (now is gray) change something random in Phoenix BIOS Editor and restore its original value (e.g. a word)

example is a parameter value 12 You change to 10 and again chamge to 12 !
Now PBE will save file correctly !

I don't know other (I have done sometime this mod).
Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#5
Can you personally provide a working file to confirm this is the case? I just tried this and still same results.

What I see happening, is when the BIOS file is opened, it extracts all files to /TEMP and I am provided these 5 files:

LOGO1.BIN
LOGO2.BIN - Compaq Logo
LOGO3.BIN
LOGO4.BIN
LOGO5.BIN - Compaq Logo

And as soon as I opened up the Splash-Screen tree listing on PBE it extracts the images to /TEMP again but only for the convenience of viewing them within PBE.

The original images themselves are stored in those BIN files, which it holds onto so when the BIOS file is "rebuilt" it preserves the contents of those BIN files thus, denying any changes made either manually or through PBE itself regardless of enabling the "Build BIOS" menu item.

Those files are responsible for no changes being made. So I don't know how someone was able to modify the Apple Logo example BIOS file. They must be a genius or something because I have spent 2 days on this and it should only take a few minutes following a appropriate flash.
find
quote
#6
(04-27-2014, 04:44 PM)WiiLF Wrote: Can you personally provide a working file to confirm this is the case? I just tried this and still same results.

What I see happening, is when the BIOS file is opened, it extracts all files to /TEMP and I am provided these 5 files:

LOGO1.BIN
LOGO2.BIN - Compaq Logo
LOGO3.BIN
LOGO4.BIN
LOGO5.BIN - Compaq Logo

And as soon as I opened up the Splash-Screen tree listing on PBE it extracts the images to /TEMP again but only for the convenience of viewing them within PBE.

The original images themselves are stored in those BIN files, which it holds onto so when the BIOS file is "rebuilt" it preserves the contents of those BIN files thus, denying any changes made either manually or through PBE itself regardless of enabling the "Build BIOS" menu item.

Those files are responsible for no changes being made. So I don't know how someone was able to modify the Apple Logo example BIOS file. They must be a genius or something because I have spent 2 days on this and it should only take a few minutes following a appropriate flash.

Ok I will try to do using your files and let You know the result, if positive I will upload that file.
regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#7
Complete. I thank WinHex. BIOS works perfectly with boot logo.


Attached Files
.zip   30B7F43-APPLE.zip (Size: 608.1 KB / Downloads: 14)
find
quote
#8
Ok PBE cannot save mod for your bios, I don't know why ?!?
May be chinese Language or Others features into, but I found a way
to mod anyway !
Try this file or open It by PBE and look if Apple logo is into !
Let me know
Regards

http://rghost.net/54706559

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#9
(04-28-2014, 09:31 AM)WiiLF Wrote: Complete. I thank WinHex. BIOS works perfectly with boot logo.

What It means WinHex ?
You used WinHex to replace Images into bios ?
Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)