Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO -> i5-4570TE
Last Post: DeathBringer
Today 12:54 AM
» Replies: 13
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad T430 (G1ETxxWW...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 06:55 PM
» Replies: 693
» Views: 300857
Asus GL702VM Unlocking Menus
Last Post: swaco
Yesterday 01:33 PM
» Replies: 94
» Views: 34477
[REQUEST] Medion Akoya P7624 (MD 98920) ...
Last Post: Maxinator500
Yesterday 12:51 PM
» Replies: 30
» Views: 3616
[REQUEST] Lenovo Legion Y540-17IRHcWhite...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 12:48 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad L430 (G3ETxxWW...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 11:31 AM
» Replies: 72
» Views: 19711
Clevo P775TM1-G BIOS
Last Post: peroni88
Yesterday 06:45 AM
» Replies: 152
» Views: 53643
[REQUEST] Asus TUF Gaming A15 FA506IU BI...
Last Post: JeWgIeNiJ
Yesterday 01:31 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 879
Core2Extreme X9000 running amazing on an...
Last Post: HENK2077
12-06-2022 05:13 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 934
[REQUEST] Acer Predator Helios 300 PH315...
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-06-2022 03:05 PM
» Replies: 27
» Views: 6953
[Lenovo Thinkbook G2 ARE] What parameter...
Last Post: paretano
12-06-2022 11:09 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
CLEVO BIOS Mods
Last Post: Asd9001
12-06-2022 07:09 AM
» Replies: 241
» Views: 411438
[REQUEST] Lenovo G50-80 (B0CNxxWW) White...
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-06-2022 03:23 AM
» Replies: 103
» Views: 27411
CH341A Programs Correctly but BIOS Still...
Last Post: shuten
12-06-2022 01:47 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
FPT version for Q85 chipset (Lenovo M83)
Last Post: Maxinator500
12-05-2022 10:10 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 0
Asus P5VD2-VM SE Q6600, microcode update
Last Post: jollystukas
12-05-2022 07:04 PM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 0
[REQUEST] Dell Alienware 14 (2013) White...
Last Post: states_credits_03
12-05-2022 04:39 PM
» Replies: 22
» Views: 6620
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad T540p (GMETxxW...
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-05-2022 02:57 PM
» Replies: 101
» Views: 32928
[AMIBCP] Tuning "MSI PRO B550M-P GEN3" b...
Last Post: Rck
12-05-2022 12:57 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 0
Helios 300 ph317-54 unlock request
Last Post: Dudu2002
12-05-2022 12:47 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 405

DELL Optiplex FX160 SLIC 2.1 mod request
#11
No problem - I can edit in HEX EDITOR but - it maybe a silly question - why?

Would you find some time and explain (or at least point me where I could find some explanation what is actually happens)?

Most people here are looking for "quick answer" (press this, do that) but I'd like to know, why I'm "pressing this, doing that"

Many thanks for patience
find
quote
#12
All manufacturers are producing their own files with their own extensions !
You think that all files are coded by GOD Wink
So anyone can choice own .[censored] extension to create a new file !
.exe executable, .rom read only memory .whp windows phlash phoenix etc. etc.
Starting from once upon a time every Company on the Market has created a new
standard using a file like contenitor and put into some data using an own file extension !
.HDR is Header (so is an hat on top .rom file) and on many Dell Bioses You can extract
the .rom file too using this comeand :

Extracting HDR and ROM Files from Dell Bios executable files
It’s all about the forward slash.

In a DOS box use BiosFileName.EXE /Writehdrfile or BiosFileName.EXE /Writeromfile

The Win32 exe file will execute in windows and It will then create a BiosFileName.ROM or BiosFileName.HDR in the current Directory

Further command line options are as bellow.

Classic
Reportstatus
Norburesults
Rburesults
Writeromfile
Writehexfile
Writehdrfile
Wipeclean
Wipeall
Verbose
Prgboot
Noreboot
Nopause
Info
Forcetype
Forceit
Factory
Edvu
Boot

Not always is working so You can extract manualy It too !
More I cannot say (You can find some info about DCCU and new DCM on Dell site)
Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#13
After removing suggested lines - AMItools says that there is already SLIC 2.1: any point to add it again??
What about flashing ROM file without headers? Possible??
find
quote
#14
Ok friend,
I don't know which file You are using and I cannot follow You as I described all
genericaly !
If It's just present Slic 2.1 You cannot add It second time ! or You have to permit modification
answering "Allow Modification ? " Yes !
About AMI .ROM file I think using AFUDOS.exe It could be possible, but normaly Header chunck
contains important data for EC and Others Regions so It's essential !
If You use PMTool 2.59 for AMI Aptio Bioses You can use Original .exe Bios and the Tool will reply
with an Slic.exe file (It decompiles Bios do the mods and recompiles It for You) !
For old versions of AMI Bioses the process is almost different as It needs to extract
the .HDR filethen modify and repack an .exe file using DCCU Altaris Console or DCC new one !
Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#15
Ok. Now I'm bit confused...
You suggested using PMTool 2.59 - isn't it for Phoenix BIOS (?)...I got AMITool 1.63
Anyway...
I edited original HDR (removed some bit as you suggested) and save as ROM
When AMITool - I got message "slic 2.1 already exist, allow modification?" and I did.
It created a new "SLIC ROM" and everything seems correct, but...
I tried to flash both (original & SLIC) using AfuWin but not sure, as it didn't reboot itself after.
find
quote
#16
Hi friend,
you have don't understand what I said !
I talked about AMI Aptio and PMTool 2.59 !
Your Bios is an oldest one (the worst) as We have not tools to extract
.HDR and .ROM files !!!
I suggested all methods as I was thinking You wwould to learn How To on Dell
Bioses !!!
So for your Bios We need to run the Original Bios .ex file extract from %TEMP%
folder the Installer with Bios File I sent to You the A13 version !
Look into that folder and You'll find a tool (from Dell) to flash Bios .HDR !!!
Then extract manualy the .ROM file modify using (old AMITool 1.63) rto reinsert
Slic 2.1 WIN09 version and replace .ROM into .HDR but here there are issue to
rebuild the CHECKSUM !!!
So as I said It is not useful to try a Bios Mod flash by AFUDOS or AFUwin !
You Bricked your PC so now You need an HW SPI Programmer !
I am loosing my time as I was explaining, but You are too quick for me !
I don't know how to recalculate HASH for new HDR file and I was studing
meanwhile.
If there is a way to recover your Bios I will find to reply to You !
Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#17
Load of misunderstanding...
I got everything you said (*hdr from temp), edited in hex (removed bites) and save as *rom.
AMITool 1.63 doesn't want to go with original *hdr (size problem) but when I give it "edited" *rom - tells me that "2.1 already there". I tried "reinsert" SLIC and it said it's done. I even tried to flash it but no success (it maybe because of windows flashing)

Anyway - you're pointing me to PMTool 2.59 for AMI, but anything I could "google" directing me to Phoenix BIOS...

No worries... I have not bricked my PC... yet Smile
and I think I've got "SPI Programmer" laying somewhere around... or at least - access to it...
find
quote
#18
If You have got the SPI PGM You can read original Eeprom Chip file then modify using
AMITool 1.63 and rewrite It into Wink !!!
Let me know
Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote
#19
Yes, I could use SPI, but rather not to... don't have SOIC 8 Pin yet.
Anyway - AfuWin read current BIOS correctly.
As I said, AMITool recognizes "SLIC 2.1 in module F0" but the system doesn't. Slic 3.2 Toolkit shows no Slic. Any suggestions??
What could be modified?
find
quote
#20
Ok friend,
use Advanced Options to modify the settings and try Others possibilities !
I will tryto find something about to say You !
let me know
Regards

[size=undefined]Your Brain [/size]. . . . It's the best tool U can use ! Wink
[size=undefined]Don't FLASH the Bios Mod if You get a Size Alert, You risk a Brick !!! [/size]
Donate to me for my work, click here BDM
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)