Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Hiva2023
Today 01:15 PM
» Replies: 1185
» Views: 291427
[REQUEST] Lenovo IdeaPad L340 (BGCNxxWW)...
Last Post: CyberBonk
Today 12:45 PM
» Replies: 58
» Views: 17608
HP EliteDesk 705 G5 SFF: CPU Upgrade
Last Post: clogscancer
Today 03:10 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 506
Acer Aspire 7750G: Ivy Bridge support
Last Post: DeathBringer
Today 12:28 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 282
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire 5738(G,Z): CPU Upg...
Last Post: lollo90
Yesterday 05:26 PM
» Replies: 45
» Views: 29447
[REQUEST] Sony VAIO SVE-151 & SVE-171 (R...
Last Post: noodlexd
Yesterday 08:33 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 87
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad T450(s) (JBETx...
Last Post: portapane
Yesterday 08:28 AM
» Replies: 135
» Views: 74224
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire 4738(G,Z) BIOS Unl...
Last Post: arisprast1
Yesterday 01:28 AM
» Replies: 62
» Views: 17223
[REQUEST] Sony VAIO SVE-151 & SVE-171 (R...
Last Post: noodlexd
06-12-2024 06:51 PM
» Replies: 42
» Views: 35958
[REQUEST] IGEL M320C Thin Client
Last Post: Trixxtar
06-12-2024 10:33 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 1025
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN517-52 BIOS Unl...
Last Post: MATI1XD
06-11-2024 06:36 AM
» Replies: 17
» Views: 3797
MB (A55M-E33 FM2+)
Last Post: TamoNeki
06-10-2024 03:28 PM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 747
Lenovo Ideapad flex 4 14IAU7 missing UUI...
Last Post: balli4u
06-10-2024 01:10 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 197
[REQUEST] Lenovo S310 & S410 (8BCNxxWW) ...
Last Post: Dudu2002
06-10-2024 08:34 AM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 7253
[REQUEST] Lenovo G780 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
06-10-2024 06:47 AM
» Replies: 875
» Views: 309940
HELP Unbrick ASUS N550JV
Last Post: halfchemistry
06-10-2024 05:37 AM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 11852
Asus Strix G512LV Bios Unlock
Last Post: loic2907
06-10-2024 04:12 AM
» Replies: 58
» Views: 16919
[Request] HP X99 CPU Support
Last Post: DeathBringer
06-09-2024 01:01 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 343
[REQUEST] Lenovo G710 BIOS Whitelist Rem...
Last Post: Dudu2002
06-09-2024 03:50 AM
» Replies: 469
» Views: 144689
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkCentre M715q 2nd G...
Last Post: Arcaderix
06-09-2024 02:11 AM
» Replies: 18
» Views: 2182

HP DX2300 45nm CPU unlock
#1
A few days ago I was looking to update the micro code of my dx2300 I think installing an E5800 3.2GHz but my motherboard only supports 65nm conroe I tried using CBROM but I get this


[Image: 6b49614aafec379e87763e96ee076001o.png]




BIOS


.zip   bios.zip (Size: 548.45 KB / Downloads: 12)
find
quote
#2
What CPU do you want to use in particular? it appears the dx2300 is Intel 946GZ Express Chipset. Which intel lists 800mhz fsb max. Although HP says E6700 max. It's the 945, not sure on 945. It may give no post on quad core's but might work? HP says 1066 dual cores. I have a hp a1640n g965 chipset, says only to support dual cores same max e6700. Although it would post with quad core's. So if it posts on a q6600 for instance. Then maybe it just needs a micro code update. Let me know which cpu's you have to test. Pick up a q6600 to see if it posts. If not, I would go with the Xeon 3070 but would need a micro code update. It's faster than the E6700 by a tiny bit. Head over to these forums to request help adding micro code after you first test some CPU's so we have an idea of what will work.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1431723/mod-l...cpus/11490
find
quote
#3
I have thought to put the Pentium E5800 3.2GHz or the Pentium E6600 3.06GHz but it requires updating of micro code
find
quote
#4
Why do you think it requires updating?  Will it not support wolfdale (.045) cpus?  I have an e6700 from another system's upgrade that I was going to try in my dx2300 that currently has an e2200 as an upgrade from the original pentium 3 ghz 800fsb.  I won't bother if it's not going to work.
www find
quote
#5
(03-18-2017, 07:11 AM)rltl1997 Wrote: I have thought to put the Pentium E5800 3.2GHz or the Pentium E6600 3.06GHz but it requires updating of micro code
Adding microcode will not add support for new CPUs.
find
quote
#6
After reading some other sources, I have found out that the manufacturing process changed on the e6700 (.045) so cpus with those specs will not work in the dx2300 (only .065 or earlier seem to work fine).  The fastest cpu that has worked in a dx2300 is the qx6800 on stock bios as confirmed by the last post here:
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/For...rohardware
www find
quote
#7
Quote:I have an e6700 from another system's upgrade
SamirD, can you test modified bios. Update with Bootblock for pass of Wolfdale cpu core.

.zip   dx2300.zip (Size: 406.29 KB / Downloads: 55)
find
quote
#8
(05-28-2018, 12:55 PM)LLC Wrote:
Quote:I have an e6700 from another system's upgrade
SamirD, can you test modified bios. Update with Bootblock for pass of Wolfdale cpu core.

I can, but it will probably be at least one week.  I downloaded the zip and looked inside.  What tool do I need to use to write the .rom file and where can I download it?
www find
quote
#9
It's Award bios, so awdflash utility. I not found prefered version from manufacturer, so first runing without option's key for checking detect flash chip and program not frozen, then exit. Download it on this page. Check option in Setup menu - Boot - Bios Write Protection - Disabled.
Use this command line: awdflash  dx2300.rom backup.rom /py /sy /Wb /E
   
find
quote
#10
(05-29-2018, 01:17 PM)LLC Wrote: It's Award bios, so awdflash utility. I not found prefered version from manufacturer, so first runing without option's key for checking detect flash chip and program not frozen, then exit. Download it on this page. Check option in Setup menu - Boot - Bios Write Protection - Disabled.
Use this command line: awdflash  dx2300.rom backup.rom /py /sy /Wb /E

Got it.  I downloaded awdflash.  Will any DOS boot environment do, or is it necessary to use the image provided on the page you linked to?  Also, what do the switches and backup.rom do?  (My guess is that backup.rom is the filename where the current rom will be backed up to before the new rom will be written, correct?)

Thank you in advance for the answers!  Cool
www find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)