Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[Request] Alienware 17 R2 bios unlock
Last Post: J0DA
Today 01:19 PM
» Replies: 112
» Views: 22824
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 01:03 PM
» Replies: 1979
» Views: 364784
[REQUEST] Lenovo T440(S) (GJETxxWW) Whit...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 12:08 PM
» Replies: 507
» Views: 102668
[REQUEST] Lenovo G510 (79CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 12:05 PM
» Replies: 604
» Views: 111808
Fujitsu Celsius R930 (D3118-A2) unlocked...
Last Post: qix67
Today 10:42 AM
» Replies: 20
» Views: 3802
I need a moded Bios
Last Post: Alone A.I.
Today 10:00 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 126
[REQUEST] Lenovo 110-15ISK onboard memor...
Last Post: kurtspirit
Today 06:51 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 37
[Request] ASUS ROG GL553VW BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Today 04:54 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 180
[REQUEST] Asus TUF Dash F15 BIOS Unlock ...
Last Post: Kay123
Today 02:31 AM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 2949
server board ID
Last Post: bobot
Yesterday 09:43 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 77
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkCentre M73 Tiny (F...
Last Post: afhpwnd
Yesterday 03:18 PM
» Replies: 44
» Views: 20994
Dell XPS 15 9550 bios password help!!!
Last Post: DeathBringer
Yesterday 01:48 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 190
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 12:40 PM
» Replies: 1202
» Views: 169627
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) BIOS Un...
Last Post: Antonek
Yesterday 11:53 AM
» Replies: 302
» Views: 86038
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500(S) (7BCNxxWW) Whit...
Last Post: Antonek
Yesterday 11:21 AM
» Replies: 674
» Views: 151557
VAIO PCV-W2
Last Post: david035
Yesterday 08:46 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 1337
Asus R301LA
Last Post: StefanAm
Yesterday 08:23 AM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 226
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad W701ds BIOS Un...
Last Post: laurenceyu
Yesterday 07:41 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 277
TEMP folder doesn't get used...
Last Post: behealed
Yesterday 06:57 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 90
BIOS ROM question
Last Post: sunrunner
Yesterday 06:49 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 109

Acer Aspire 5738zg VT-x Bios Mod
#11
(09-25-2011, 07:02 AM)meonlineonmess Wrote:
(09-25-2011, 06:43 AM)kizwan Wrote: The modified BIOS is safe. I will never upload faulty BIOS. However, when dealing with BIOS there is always risk involved. The unlocked options depend on the hardware compatibility. For example, FAN options most probably won't work because FAN on notebooks usually implemented using different method & controlled by BIOS in different way. Anyway, only change the options you familiar with. The VT-x will work with VT-x capable processor. Just make sure the processor support VT-x & 64-bit.

Ok,I will reply next week when I will change the cpu.


So I changed the cpu and vt-x is working with the original bios also, I think all the options were set to enable automatically even if they are not seen.I have an issue with the new cpu it gets hot around 70 degrees when full loaded and I think it is not ok. I undervolted it and the temp got normal.

My question is, are there options in bios to undervolt cpu?so that I don`t have to use software undervolting programs?

find
quote
#12
(09-28-2011, 02:15 PM)meonlineonmess Wrote: So I changed the cpu and vt-x is working with the original bios also, I think all the options were set to enable automatically even if they are not seen.
In the BIOS there is a table which contains default settings. If the default setting for VT-x is enabled, it means it enabled by default. In Aspire 5738 BIOS, VT-x is enabled by default. So, when you put VT-x capable CPU, VT-x will work out-of-the-box. All options are not enabled automatically. It depend on the default value set in the BIOS.

Sorry, there are no options for undervolting CPU in the BIOS. 70 Celsius when full load is not bad actually. Heatsink on notebook did not put enough pressure for some thermal paste to perform best. So, I recommend Shin-Etsu thermal paste if you haven't tried it yet.

Did you check out the "dual-IDA" mode? The modified BIOS have unlocked EIST. With unlocked EIST & Intel Dynamic Acceleration (IDA) capable CPU, you can enabled IDA on both cores (hence the name "dual-IDA").

If you use my modified BIOS image & you like it, please consider making a donation. Thank you very much. Smile
Donate Here
find
quote
#13
(09-28-2011, 07:06 PM)kizwan Wrote:
(09-28-2011, 02:15 PM)meonlineonmess Wrote: So I changed the cpu and vt-x is working with the original bios also, I think all the options were set to enable automatically even if they are not seen.
In the BIOS there is a table which contains default settings. If the default setting for VT-x is enabled, it means it enabled by default. In Aspire 5738 BIOS, VT-x is enabled by default. So, when you put VT-x capable CPU, VT-x will work out-of-the-box. All options are not enabled automatically. It depend on the default value set in the BIOS.

Sorry, there are no options for undervolting CPU in the BIOS. 70 Celsius when full load is not bad actually. Heatsink on notebook did not put enough pressure for some thermal paste to perform best. So, I recommend Shin-Etsu thermal paste if you haven't tried it yet.

Did you check out the "dual-IDA" mode? The modified BIOS have unlocked EIST. With unlocked EIST & Intel Dynamic Acceleration (IDA) capable CPU, you can enabled IDA on both cores (hence the name "dual-IDA").

Hello,I looked for dual ida mode in bios also looked for eist but I did not see these options.
I have Right Mark cpu utility on windows and here I have undervolting options and ida but it is for windows not bios but it works.My cpu temp went down ~15 degrees.
Now I have 36 on core 0 and 44 on core 1.
Bios options for undervolting would be great,but if it is not possible, this is it.I heard about DSDT in ACPI table which could undervolt cpu and requires bios editing.Is this true or did I misunderstood?


find
quote
#14
(09-29-2011, 09:17 AM)meonlineonmess Wrote: Hello,I looked for dual ida mode in bios also looked for eist but I did not see these options.
I have Right Mark cpu utility on windows and here I have undervolting options and ida but it is for windows not bios but it works.
It is not EIST option. The BIOS have EIST lock bit which basically prevent you from enabling/disabling EIST in OS. What I did is patched the EIST lock bit so that it is unlocked. When EIST is unlocked, you can enabled/disabled EIST in windows. Also when EIST is unlocked you can enable dual-IDA - which mean IDA on both cores. The option in Right Mark cpu utility must be IDA, not dual-IDA. You can enable dual-IDA using an application called ThrottleStop. This only possible with IDA capable processor.
(09-29-2011, 09:17 AM)meonlineonmess Wrote: Bios options for undervolting would be great,but if it is not possible, this is it.I heard about DSDT in ACPI table which could undervolt cpu and requires bios editing.Is this true or did I misunderstood?
Yes it is true. However, when you do this mod, the DSDT won't be able to reintegrate in the BIOS because the size become bigger. The only solution is to override DSDT by loading the modified DSDT in registry for windows. If linux, will need to use DSDT override method. Please read here to understand what involves (under _PSS): http://forum.notebookreview.com/7075297-post1428.html

If you use my modified BIOS image & you like it, please consider making a donation. Thank you very much. Smile
Donate Here
find
quote
#15
Hi, i am trying to set my timings on my Aspire 5738pg, i flashed the bios with your MOD that gives allot of more options in the bios but still no option to set the timings.

I saw people talking about advanced settings in main but i dont have that.

Any idea what to do? because my ram clock is way wrong.

Thnx for the awesome work Kizwan.

Cheers,
Jeroen
find
quote
#16
can you please tell me the procedure how to do it? Huh

please tell me the procedure how to do it
find
quote
#17
I had the similar problem with Wireless not working (looked disabled, couldnt enable using button) on 5738z. I've resolved it by setting to auto all devices (PCE cards or how is it called).
find
quote
#18
Bug 
I have problem in acer 5738, once mounted the processor intel core duo t7500 the bios can not find the microcode and I have to press f1 .. is a problem that someone can solve it? help me : Huh: (sorry for the English but are Swiss)
find
quote
#19
hi
can you please unlock Acer aspire one v5 571 533 bios for advanced options.
thanks.
link to bios - http://global-download.acer.com/GDFiles/...ER&SC=PA_6
find
quote
#20
Hi. I have a laptop Acer Aspire 5738zg. I changed it to the P8600 processor that supports Intel ® (VT-x). Established a modified BIOS Aspire 5738G BIOS_1.34 EIST MOD.rar INTEL in the BIOS menu appears, virtualization technology option - Enabled, but the program ConfigInfo.exe in windows (XP 32) shows that virtualization is available but not included. How to fix it?
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)