Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Milith
Today 12:15 PM
» Replies: 2038
» Views: 422990
Advenced options insydeh20 rev 3.5
Last Post: MDJ
Today 10:35 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 20
ASUS RAMPAGE III EXTREME BIOS - V1601 - ...
Last Post: DEza
Today 09:42 AM
» Replies: 219
» Views: 137911
[Request] HP/Compaq NX9600/zd8000/X6000 ...
Last Post: k24a1
Today 09:33 AM
» Replies: 19
» Views: 464
[REQUEST] BIOS Unlock ASUS X550IK / K550...
Last Post: genius239
Today 09:31 AM
» Replies: 27
» Views: 1905
[REQUEST] Eglobal S210H BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Today 09:19 AM
» Replies: 116
» Views: 12475
[REQUEST] BIOS Unlock/Mod Lenovo ST50 Th...
Last Post: code
Today 08:28 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 38
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y50-70 (9ECNxxWW) BIOS ...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 08:12 AM
» Replies: 2307
» Views: 548642
Dell VESA mode 103 conflict.
Last Post: William P
Today 08:03 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 4566
Request Asus ROG Strix G15 G513IM-HN002 ...
Last Post: Oblivious
Today 06:14 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 181
[REQUEST] GL504GS BIOS unlock
Last Post: genius239
Today 01:34 AM
» Replies: 59
» Views: 14042
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y50-70 (9ECNxxWW) White...
Last Post: ivladut94
Yesterday 06:05 PM
» Replies: 1913
» Views: 331468
[REQUEST] Asus VivoBook K56CM BIOS Unloc...
Last Post: William.Hunting
Yesterday 03:58 PM
» Replies: 12
» Views: 2353
[REQUEST] Lenovo V580(c) (H1ETxxWW) Whit...
Last Post: salador
Yesterday 03:31 PM
» Replies: 626
» Views: 110868
Acer Aspire 7750G Restart Loop after cha...
Last Post: DrAether
Yesterday 02:51 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 145
[REQUEST] Sony VAIO SVE-151 & SVE-171 (R...
Last Post: Andros33
Yesterday 10:50 AM
» Replies: 52
» Views: 29721
[REQUEST] HP Erica6 AMI bios 8906 vF.03
Last Post: qrwvsofnbvsidof
Yesterday 09:37 AM
» Replies: 22
» Views: 3290
[Request] HP Probook 4540S Whitelist Rem...
Last Post: YUG
Yesterday 09:12 AM
» Replies: 19
» Views: 10030
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire V5-131 & V5-171 BI...
Last Post: luizrbtm
Yesterday 07:19 AM
» Replies: 172
» Views: 33818
[REQUEST] Lenovo B5400 (J7ETxxWW) Whitel...
Last Post: floraflora
Yesterday 05:29 AM
» Replies: 128
» Views: 25726

[REQUEST] Asus x99-a 3.1 4x4x4x4x bifurcation
#1

Hello,


I am in desperate need of enabling 4x4x4x4x bifurcation on PCIE on my Asus x99-a 3.1 board. It is using a 5820k CPU. I am trying to use the Asus Hyper m.2 card with 4x NVME drives in raid 0.
 
I opened the bios in AMIBCP and saw a couple options to do so but I have NEVER done this before. I am willing to PP someone a expedited fee if they can help get this up and running.
 
Thanks!
find
quote
#2
Attached a couple pictures. First off, I have no idea wtf I am doing I was just clicking around and saw these. Either way, I saw what I am assuming is PCIE slot 1 (where my card is currently) has 40 lane selected which mine is 28, so do I just select the 28? Then under that it has 4x4x which is max, under that has 4x4x4x4x. Not sure if this is correct.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
       
find
quote
#3
Decided to give it a shot myself but was getting "none uefi bios" error. I think it has to do with the amibcp saving secure capsule as unsigned error I get when trying to save it.
find
quote
#4
@PPA

You can see mosT useful features is under IntelRCSetup tab ,included you need IIO Configuration. This is an external module and i thought it's hard or a big work to let "IntelRCSetup" appear in the bios menu.
(If on Msi x99 board ,we can use swapping method then link to IntelRCSetup tab ,but on ASUS it's a big work.)
So ,i'll suggest you to change settings value via AMIBCP then re-flash the modified bios.

If this board has flash back feature you can use it to flash bios. If not ,you could use Intel fpt tool(version9) to write it. Or you could use i prepared tool package.(It's also intel fpt9 ,but i put batch files to simple the process)

Your processor is included 28 lanes ,it should is x16 ,x8 ,4 to pci-e slot ,the first pci-e slot should is x16 ,insert the Hyper m.2 card to it then try below settings and check it's available.
Under IIO 0
CPU Lane Type = cpu 28 lane
IOU1 (IIO PCIe Port 3) = x4x4x4x4

If it's invalid ,you could try other combination or try it under other IIOx

My page>>>click
My bios unlock >>> click
donate me >>>click


find
quote
#5
(01-08-2022, 09:43 PM)genius239 Wrote: @PPA

You can see mosT useful features is under IntelRCSetup tab ,included you need IIO Configuration. This is an external module and i thought it's hard or a big work to let "IntelRCSetup" appear in the bios menu.
(If on Msi x99 board ,we can use swapping method then link to IntelRCSetup tab ,but on ASUS it's a big work.)
So ,i'll suggest you to change settings value via AMIBCP  then re-flash the modified bios.

If this board has flash back feature you can use it to flash bios. If not ,you could use Intel fpt tool(version9) to write it. Or you could use i prepared tool package.(It's also intel fpt9 ,but i put batch files to simple the process)

Your processor is included 28 lanes ,it should is x16 ,x8 ,4 to pci-e slot ,the first pci-e slot should is x16 ,insert the Hyper m.2 card to it then try below settings and check it's available.
Under IIO 0
CPU Lane Type = cpu 28 lane
IOU1 (IIO PCIe Port 3) = x4x4x4x4

If it's invalid ,you could try other combination or try it under other IIOx

Thanks for the information. This sounds very close to what I did however the flashback feature was not working. I am going to try the Asus AIsuite trick. Any idea which slot if which IIO?
find
quote
#6
Why flash back feature didn't work? I have told you my idea regard of pci-e slot and bios setting value. Others you have to testing yourself.

My page>>>click
My bios unlock >>> click
donate me >>>click


find
quote
#7
(01-08-2022, 10:54 PM)genius239 Wrote: Why flash back feature didn't work? I have told you my idea regard of pci-e slot and bios setting value. Others you have to testing yourself.
Not sure, it just went solid. The bios was prepared properly.
find
quote
#8
I was able to get the bios to flashback. I had to make sure the cap was signed still. I used this video... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aISCfhK05Rk&ab_channel=St1cky

The bad thing is, it doesnt seem like the bios is actually modified in anyway once I flash it.
find
quote
#9
@PPA

1. Why do you need use flashback to re-write the modified bios? Because it will not verify the cap bios again. As long as you have edit it anything it's impossible keep the signed and it can't be re-write by ez-flash ai3 ,this is why i want you to use flashback to flash the mod.
Its original feature is revert bios when you got bricked.

Also ,i'm hope you try intel fpt tool.

2. Below is i thought AMIBCP options correspond to the actual pci-e slot. Not sure ,but you could try it.
IOU0 (IIO PCIe Port 2) >> no.4 pci-e slot
IOU1 (IIO PCIe Port 3) >> no.1 pci-e slot
[Image: B20zFQ3G_o.png]

3. You can also change variable via GRUB without bios modification.
Cpu type
[Image: LzaJ4nbl_o.png]

[Image: yF3lg7Xc_o.png]

If you use i often use Grub version and for example ,if you want to change IOU1 (IIO PCIe Port 3) to x4x4x4x4 ,command lines look like below.

setup_var IntelSetup 0x537 0x0

4. Use ru.efi to change variable is also a good chooice.

My page>>>click
My bios unlock >>> click
donate me >>>click


find
quote
#10
Wow that is awesome! I would like to give that a try but I am not sure how to use grub. Are you just loading in the original bios and modding it or is that a program you boot into?

(01-09-2022, 11:50 PM)genius239 Wrote: @PPA

1. Why do you need use flashback to re-write the modified bios? Because it will not verify the cap bios again. As long as you have edit it anything it's impossible keep the signed  and it can't be re-write by ez-flash ai3 ,this is why i want you to use flashback to flash the mod.
Its original feature is revert bios when you got bricked.

Also ,i'm hope you try intel fpt tool.

2. Below is i thought AMIBCP options correspond to the actual pci-e slot. Not sure ,but you could try it.
IOU0 (IIO PCIe Port 2) >> no.4 pci-e slot
IOU1 (IIO PCIe Port 3) >> no.1 pci-e slot
[Image: B20zFQ3G_o.png]

3. You can also change variable via GRUB without bios modification.
Cpu type
[Image: LzaJ4nbl_o.png]

[Image: yF3lg7Xc_o.png]

If you use i often use Grub version and for example ,if you want to change IOU1 (IIO PCIe Port 3) to x4x4x4x4 ,command lines look like below.

setup_var IntelSetup 0x537 0x0

4. Use ru.efi to change variable is also a good chooice.
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)