Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Core 2 Duo era CPU support for...
Last Post: XPUser2600
Today 10:36 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 269
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire 5333 & 5733(Z) BIO...
Last Post: Maxinator500
Today 09:06 AM
» Replies: 50
» Views: 2335
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 06:36 AM
» Replies: 1183
» Views: 282854
[REQUEST] ASUS ROG GX800VHK BIOS Unlock
Last Post: Katolinkus
Today 04:30 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 69
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad T480s (N22ETxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 03:29 AM
» Replies: 22
» Views: 6737
[REQUEST] Lenovo Ideapad 100-14IBD & 100...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 03:23 AM
» Replies: 17
» Views: 7542
[REQUEST] BIOS unlock for an AMI based M...
Last Post: rra022001
Yesterday 11:37 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 74
[REQUEST] Fujitsu T734 Lifebook BIOS Unl...
Last Post: windvd
Yesterday 02:48 PM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 1258
Optiplex 7060 SFF 9th Generation Intel C...
Last Post: ziznah
Yesterday 11:54 AM
» Replies: 48
» Views: 9676
[REQUEST] Toshiba Satellite M100/M105 BI...
Last Post: ich7m
Yesterday 04:37 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 158
[REQUEST] Asus eeepc 1025C
Last Post: RiccardoP
Yesterday 04:34 AM
» Replies: 92
» Views: 112952
[REQUEST] Lenovo V580(c) (H1ETxxWW) Whit...
Last Post: ihronos
05-25-2024 04:38 AM
» Replies: 589
» Views: 157348
[Resolved] [Request] SLIC 2.1 for Asus X...
Last Post: alestoroz
05-25-2024 03:32 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 254
[REQUEST] Asus ROG Strix GL702ZC BIOS Un...
Last Post: FlorikDT
05-24-2024 11:12 AM
» Replies: 169
» Views: 71702
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN515-54 BIOS Unl...
Last Post: Jonas Amaral
05-24-2024 07:46 AM
» Replies: 88
» Views: 27202
Asus A8M2N-LA/HP NodusM-GL8E: CPU Upgrad...
Last Post: DeathBringer
05-24-2024 06:22 AM
» Replies: 44
» Views: 13054
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Fold Whitel...
Last Post: Dudu2002
05-24-2024 06:09 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 227
[REQUEST] Lenovo Flex 2-15 (A0CNxxWW) Wh...
Last Post: Dudu2002
05-24-2024 06:01 AM
» Replies: 364
» Views: 106673
[Request] Alienware 17 R2 bios unlock
Last Post: feluchi
05-24-2024 05:11 AM
» Replies: 122
» Views: 36926
HP Pro 3300 & 3400 (H61): Upgrade to Ivy...
Last Post: miant
05-24-2024 12:42 AM
» Replies: 124
» Views: 82568

Athlon / Phenom (II) support on EPoX MF4-Ultra3
#1
Hello,

Is it possible to add new microcode to this mobo's bios? Since EPoX shut down and SUPoX doesn't want to support the older models, we (the users) have been frankly f*cked in terms of cpu upgrading...

I've seen a MF570-SLI bios mod for supporting AM2+/AM3 CPUs, so I think it's possible for MF4-Ultra3 too. Unfortunately, I've got no experience in MB bios modding...

In the zip file I've attached the latest bios available for this mobo. I'd also appreciate it if you "unlock" any useful hidden options (if any).

Thank you in advance.


Attached Files
.zip   mf4u3_latest_supox.zip (Size: 273.98 KB / Downloads: 32)
find
#2
If you post a link to the next version that has the CPU support you want, Ill simply extract and replace the CPU from that code into your bios.

TheWiz
www find
#3
Unfortunately, there never was such a bios released by EPoX / SUPoX. Can't new CPU support be added by replacing the agesacpu.rom module?
find
#4
yes, so what Im saying is find the mobo that has the CPU support you want, can be any mobo, and Ill replace the microcose, or I can just pick a random one and do it.

TheWiz
www find
#5
Ok, I've attached the modified MF570-SLI bios I mentioned in the first post. Any chance of getting a SLIC2 addition too (if there's enough space left)? Pretty please? Rolleyes


Attached Files
.rar   m5sl8114modtest.rar (Size: 371.81 KB / Downloads: 17)
find
#6
After some trial and error, i think I got it. I added the latest SLIC 2.1 and I added the CPU support from the other board. Seseming as how I never trust any bios, I reccomend a form of backup/recovery always.

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1525839/Bios/mf4-ul3mod.BIN

If you are happy with my work, please consider a small donation to help keep the forums running.

Thanks,
TheWiz
www find
#7
Thanks, I'll test it as soon as possible Smile
Well, it DID flash properly... The first thing I noticed was it didn't recognize my Brisbane, also it refused to boot, unless I gave it the Fail-Safe / Optimized Defaults treatment. Even if it booted, it took ages to get to the desktop (kinda like when the L2's disabled and DMA is off, but according to CPUz & Everest, they were ok Big Grin). Another thing is - the integrated NIC wasn't working. I reflashed to the original bios, and everything is OK.

P.S. I noticed a *NEWER* bios from SUPoX, so I've attached it. The description was in Chinese, it mentioned some kind of fix, but I couldn't get the meaning using a web translator. Maybe you'd want to try and mod the new one...?

Edit: The fix was adding DOL support.


Attached Files
.rar   MF4ULT-3.rar (Size: 288.59 KB / Downloads: 29)

X3 445 @ X4 B45 Deneb | Prolimatech Megahalems @ CoolerMaster Excaliburs | ASUS M3A78-T | 4x2GB DDR2-800 PNY | 1 TB WD Black | ASUS HD4870 @ Accelero TwinTurbo Pro | Theater 550Pro | CoolerMaster HAF 922 | Zalman MFC-1 Plus | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Microlab TMN-1 | Chieftec APS-550S | Samsung 206BW
find
#8
Okay I will try to work with this bios. Just to clarify, were you able to recognize the added CPU support at all? I may have to add something else if it didnt that Im thinking of in my head, but I didnt think I had to.

Thanks,
TheWiz
www find
#9
Actually, I don't have an AM2+/AM3 CPU at the moment, so I figured I'd test with my current one - X2 Brisbane 6000+ (revision G2, that is). Instead of showing "Dual-Core Athlon X2 6000+ @ xxxx MHz, 2 cores" (or something like that) string, this exact line was empty. Windows didn't recognize the CPU either - x86 Compatible Family F, etc., and as I mentioned in my previous post, the NIC wasn't working.

X3 445 @ X4 B45 Deneb | Prolimatech Megahalems @ CoolerMaster Excaliburs | ASUS M3A78-T | 4x2GB DDR2-800 PNY | 1 TB WD Black | ASUS HD4870 @ Accelero TwinTurbo Pro | Theater 550Pro | CoolerMaster HAF 922 | Zalman MFC-1 Plus | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Microlab TMN-1 | Chieftec APS-550S | Samsung 206BW
find
#10
Well it seems they're definitely a couple things that could be messing around with me. First off, I am now using the newest bios for the mod work. It seems like there's a 1B module in the bios that has to be hooked to the agesarom for it to pick up the CPU code. I do have an agesa independent ROM 3.1.1.0 we could try, or I could try to redo the same mod without adding the ACPI tables. In the first mod I gave you I replaced the agesarom and the ACPI tables from the bios with proper support, maybe its possible it only needs the agesarom.

TheWiz
www find


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)