Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[Request] Acer Aspire Z1620 (h61h aio v1...
Last Post: DeathBringer
Today 01:03 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 49
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y50-70 (9ECNxxWW) BIOS ...
Last Post: FCR28
Today 10:59 AM
» Replies: 1971
» Views: 660685
Asus Prime b250m plus, RAM compatibility
Last Post: Slayery777
Today 06:23 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 97
[REQUEST] Bios Unlock Request Clevo W230...
Last Post: happycrazyman
Yesterday 03:53 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 75
Rog Strix B650E-F BIOS File Extraction
Last Post: panmetrix24
Yesterday 11:25 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 95
[REQUEST] Lenovo G50-70 (9ACNxxWW) White...
Last Post: Pipo89
Yesterday 06:47 AM
» Replies: 236
» Views: 69490
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN517-41 BIOS Unl...
Last Post: onetapxdf
Yesterday 03:37 AM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 1329
[REQUEST] Lenovo G400S (7BCNxxWW) Whitel...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 03:14 AM
» Replies: 203
» Views: 70511
[REQUEST] Lenovo V570(c) (44CNxxWW) BIOS...
Last Post: d3m3n7r
04-22-2024 05:20 PM
» Replies: 18
» Views: 11141
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y520-15IKBN (4KCNxxWW) ...
Last Post: ati90
04-22-2024 05:02 AM
» Replies: 64
» Views: 36949
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: SteamTug
04-22-2024 04:24 AM
» Replies: 1734
» Views: 545196
[REQUEST] Lenovo G410 (79CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
04-22-2024 03:58 AM
» Replies: 53
» Views: 10761
Asus h110m-a & xeon e3-1280v5
Last Post: Brutoloco
04-21-2024 08:22 PM
» Replies: 16
» Views: 541
[REQUEST] LG GRAM 14T990 Unlock request
Last Post: riclausk
04-21-2024 12:15 PM
» Replies: 16
» Views: 4237
[REQUEST] SLIC 2.1 for ASRock 880GM-LE F...
Last Post: amijim
04-21-2024 10:27 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 126
[REQUEST] Dell Alienware 15 R3 BIOS Unlo...
Last Post: jason.exe
04-21-2024 03:44 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 179
[REQUEST] Samsung NP450R5G unlock hide s...
Last Post: magg
04-21-2024 12:54 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 181
lenovo e595 20nf bios spw unlock
Last Post: vsteez
04-20-2024 07:56 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 173
uefi mod for mac pro 1.1/21. support xeo...
Last Post: victorgbrmrr
04-20-2024 01:17 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 182
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E531 (HEE...
Last Post: MAVARACOMPLEX
04-20-2024 03:23 AM
» Replies: 119
» Views: 22260

Intel code error (AMI BIOS MOD REQ)
#1
Ok so somewhere in the code in my bios it is stated that my correct and current socket is 478. Now it is listed in the DMI data correctly but not in the rest of the code. so Everest reads it as 479, and also lists the upgrade for it as
423<-Very old. I am guessing it's in the microcode. which I have no idea how to
edit cpu code as of yet. my laptop board uses a 730i chip-set. and I have reason believe when the board was engineered asus overlooked a few things here and there. Any help would be greatly appreciated. and thx in advanced for the help! Smile

AMI Bios Section ModeratorBig Grin
Exclamation
By requesting, downloading, and flashing a modified
bios you are held responsible for what you choose
to do with it. flash at your own risk! And please
remember to let us know if our mods work for you!

www find
quote
#2
Hmmmm... this is interesting, although I don't know as if microcode would dosomething like this. I will try my best to break it down and get a diagnostic for you around Thursday (possibly Wednesday)

TheWiz
www find
quote
#3
Wow awesome thx. Basically here's the whole deal. I have already visited the lavalsys forums for everest ultimate so I have narrowed it down to the dmi and possibly cpu code as to be reporting the wrong socket and socket upgrade data.
Bios data lists system as socket 479 and the upgrade socket as 423. which I imagine is something asus overlooked when the re-tooled the 730i chipset for this laptop board. but as for it reading socket 423 for an upgrade is either a typo or a huge mistake on there part as 423 is way older than 479. intel abandoned the socket as the socket limited bus speeds on boards. the 423 cpu's were by spec able to perform faster but were bottle necked by the sockets bus width from what I read on the wiki. I would like to learn how to correct this data myself as well. maybe once you find it and correct it I can learn where to look in the bios by comparing the rom changes in a hex editor and my ami bios tools.

also I have searched everywhere in the bios rom for the values to change them in the ami bcp editor. And I cannot find even one instance of socket 479 or 423
anywhere within the limits of the capabilities of the bcp editor. I'm guessing this info might be stored in a hexadecimal form some how. most likely similar to how nvidia pads there vbios roms. and hides other info in their rom codes. but like I said I am only guessing. I have absolutely no idea how or where to look for this info. as I don't fully understand bios rom structures entirely.

Wow I'm sorry when you read all this you don't think I am a huge pest. I really appreciate all your help. besides the cpu socket data info. there seems to be a glitch with the bios reporting the max amount of memory and spd that the system is capable of supporting. even the asus website is lacking this info. I am still waiting for asus to get back to me on this currently. Crucial reports the memory as follows. Mem: DDR3 PC3-8500,DDR3 PC3-10600.

AMI Bios Section ModeratorBig Grin
Exclamation
By requesting, downloading, and flashing a modified
bios you are held responsible for what you choose
to do with it. flash at your own risk! And please
remember to let us know if our mods work for you!

www find
quote
#4
Hey f3bandit,

Thanks for the buddy request Big Grin Anyways, the memory issue seems to be frequent in many OEMs who overlook something, that is definitely something that needs to be addressed on their end. What I can try to do though is decompile the BIOS to see if I can find any strings referring to the wrong socket name, and change the values. Tthis obvioulsy isn't going to effect performance, just what the socket shows up as.

Sound like a plan?
TheWiz
www find
quote
#5
(05-13-2010, 06:52 PM)TheWiz Wrote: Hey f3bandit,

Thanks for the buddy request Big Grin Anyways, the memory issue seems to be frequent in many OEMs who overlook something, that is definitely something that needs to be addressed on their end. What I can try to do though is decompile the BIOS to see if I can find any strings referring to the wrong socket name, and change the values. Tthis obvioulsy isn't going to effect performance, just what the socket shows up as.

Sound like a plan?
TheWiz

that would be great thx so much, and hopefully I can also learn what to look for in the code and understand how to change these values and find them as well.
I am currently using the AMIBCPl, MMTool, and Hexworkshop. Can't seem to get the DMI editor running under windows 7 64 bit for some reason. lol maybe it's too old.

Crucial.com reports the memory as follows. I wish I knew how they access this data to know for sure if it is in fact accurate.
Mem: DDR3 PC3-8500,DDR3 PC3-10600

AMI Bios Section ModeratorBig Grin
Exclamation
By requesting, downloading, and flashing a modified
bios you are held responsible for what you choose
to do with it. flash at your own risk! And please
remember to let us know if our mods work for you!

www find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)