Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Core 2 Duo era CPU support for...
Last Post: XPUser2600
Today 10:36 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 269
[REQUEST] Acer Aspire 5333 & 5733(Z) BIO...
Last Post: Maxinator500
Today 09:06 AM
» Replies: 50
» Views: 2335
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 06:36 AM
» Replies: 1183
» Views: 282846
[REQUEST] ASUS ROG GX800VHK BIOS Unlock
Last Post: Katolinkus
Today 04:30 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 69
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad T480s (N22ETxx...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 03:29 AM
» Replies: 22
» Views: 6737
[REQUEST] Lenovo Ideapad 100-14IBD & 100...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Today 03:23 AM
» Replies: 17
» Views: 7542
[REQUEST] BIOS unlock for an AMI based M...
Last Post: rra022001
Yesterday 11:37 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 74
[REQUEST] Fujitsu T734 Lifebook BIOS Unl...
Last Post: windvd
Yesterday 02:48 PM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 1258
Optiplex 7060 SFF 9th Generation Intel C...
Last Post: ziznah
Yesterday 11:54 AM
» Replies: 48
» Views: 9676
[REQUEST] Toshiba Satellite M100/M105 BI...
Last Post: ich7m
Yesterday 04:37 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 157
[REQUEST] Asus eeepc 1025C
Last Post: RiccardoP
Yesterday 04:34 AM
» Replies: 92
» Views: 112951
[REQUEST] Lenovo V580(c) (H1ETxxWW) Whit...
Last Post: ihronos
05-25-2024 04:38 AM
» Replies: 589
» Views: 157346
[Resolved] [Request] SLIC 2.1 for Asus X...
Last Post: alestoroz
05-25-2024 03:32 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 254
[REQUEST] Asus ROG Strix GL702ZC BIOS Un...
Last Post: FlorikDT
05-24-2024 11:12 AM
» Replies: 169
» Views: 71702
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN515-54 BIOS Unl...
Last Post: Jonas Amaral
05-24-2024 07:46 AM
» Replies: 88
» Views: 27202
Asus A8M2N-LA/HP NodusM-GL8E: CPU Upgrad...
Last Post: DeathBringer
05-24-2024 06:22 AM
» Replies: 44
» Views: 13054
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Fold Whitel...
Last Post: Dudu2002
05-24-2024 06:09 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 227
[REQUEST] Lenovo Flex 2-15 (A0CNxxWW) Wh...
Last Post: Dudu2002
05-24-2024 06:01 AM
» Replies: 364
» Views: 106670
[Request] Alienware 17 R2 bios unlock
Last Post: feluchi
05-24-2024 05:11 AM
» Replies: 122
» Views: 36924
HP Pro 3300 & 3400 (H61): Upgrade to Ivy...
Last Post: miant
05-24-2024 12:42 AM
» Replies: 124
» Views: 82568

Support for mobile athlon64 4000+
#1
First of all I'm sorry for my bad english...
I have appreciate your support for adding cpu microcode inside bios in this post:
http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-At...-Neo-FIS2R

May be I got a similar problem upgrading my notebook from mobile athlon 64 3000+ to the same one 4000+.
You can find my bios on motherboard ecs 258kao here:
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product...tegoryID=3&DetailID=784&DetailName=Feature&MenuID=93&LanID=0

Reading revision note I found they added support for mobile athlon64 3700+ in 1.03 version, while in version 1.04 and 1.05 they solved different bugs

Now about my problem:
CPU is correctly recognised during boot like mobile athlon64 4000+, but it boots only at 800mhz (200x4) instead 2600 (200x13)...
In windows xp sp3 it runs constantly at the same speed (800mhz) and the only way to modify frequency is through RMCLOCK that is able to change the multiplier from 4 to 13x, depending on cpu usage.
But boot process is very slow cause I have to wait that RMCLOCK is loaded from windows to obtain full power.

In pure dos mode, through an utility called CHKCPU I can verify that cpu boot really at 200x4 and it is identify:
CPU VENDOR AND MODEL: AMD Athlon 64-M 3000+-4000+ E5-Rev.
CPU-ID VENDOR STRING: AuthenticAMD
CPU-ID NAME STRING: Mobile AMD Athlon™ Processor 64 4000+
CPU-ID SIGNATURE: 020F42.

This is the report from CPU-Z in windows mode:
Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 1 (max 1)
Number of threads 1 (max 1)
Name Mobile AMD Athlon 64 4000+
Codename Newark
Specification Mobile AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+
Package Socket 754
CPUID F.4.2
Extended CPUID F.24
Brand ID 8
Core Stepping SH8-E5
Technology 90 nm
Core Speed 798.3 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 4.0 x 199.6 MHz
HT Link speed 798.3 MHz
Stock frequency 2600 MHz
Instructions sets MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
L1 Data cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache 1024 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes
Max FID 13.0x
VID range 0.950 V - 1.400 V

K8 Thermal sensor yes
K8 Revision ID 4.1
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 0
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 1
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 2
Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 3


If I try to run the utility Powernow! Dashboard I got error message:
"Could not find a valid PSS or PST, bailing. Failed in initializing, make sure the AMDTools Drivers is installed and the system has a PSS or PST object". In other words windows is not able to manage the cool&quite features of the cpu.

Of course I updated cpu driver but the only way to reach the correct speed is trough RMCLOCK..

How I said may be the problem is due to cpu microcode inside bios...
Using utility AMIBCP v3.13 I have found these informations...
BIOS FEATURES

BIOS Date : 08/08/05
BIOS Version : 0800
Major Version : 01
Minor Version : 00
BIOS Size : 512 KB
Processor : 6
Reference Number : 001131
BIOS Tag : 1ACAJ000

SignOn Message :
AMIBIOS©2003 American Megatrends, Inc.
P4M800-M7 Release 08/08/2005

P6 Microcode Patches :
Update Revision: 0x14, Dated: 07/16/2002, for CPUID: F0A, Platform Type: 04
*Update Revision: 0x2E, Dated: 05/02/2003, for CPUID: F12, Platform Type: 04
*Update Revision: 0x05, Dated: 05/08/2003, for CPUID: F13, Platform Type: 04
Update Revision: 0x1E, Dated: 06/05/2003, for CPUID: F24, Platform Type: 04
Update Revision: 0x1F, Dated: 04/06/2004, for CPUID: F25, Platform Type: 04
Update Revision: 0x2B, Dated: 08/11/2004, for CPUID: F25, Platform Type: 04
Update Revision: 0x21, Dated: 03/24/2004, for CPUID: F29, Platform Type: 04
Update Revision: 0x2E, Dated: 08/11/2004, for CPUID: F29, Platform Type: 04
Update Revision: 0x20, Dated: 04/06/2004, for CPUID: F25, Platform Type: 10
Update Revision: 0x29, Dated: 08/11/2004, for CPUID: F25, Platform Type: 01
Update Revision: 0x2D, Dated: 08/11/2004, for CPUID: F29, Platform Type: 02
Update Revision: 0x2C, Dated: 08/26/2004, for CPUID: F25, Platform Type: 10
Update Revision: 0x04, Dated: 11/01/2004, for CPUID: F43, Platform Type: 9D

If I use utility MMTOOL I can see other 3 pathces....
May be it is necessary to add another patch supporting properly my cpu...
My be (but I'm not sure) that starting from a different bios of another motherboard that officially support mobile athlon64 4000+, it is possible, using utility MMTOOL, to extract the correct microcode and insert it inside my bios...
In AMD site there is no support about that cpu; I controlled too ASUS, MSI and ABIT sites but their bios officially support till mobile athlon 64 3700+
Can someone help me?
Thank you in advance!
find
quote
#2
Finally....
I found just a page in amd site about my CPU

http://www.amd.com/us/press-releases/Pag...00587.aspx

Here AMILO A1667G notebook seems to support cpu..
This is the data sheet that confirm support:
http://www.e-prime.eu/download/FSC_AMILO_A1667G.pdf

You can get latest bios 1.06c from
http://support.ts.fujitsu.com/download/S...75CDAD809F&OSID=665F4A20-6E31-43C3-82C2-D98CE773007C&Status=False&Component=Flash%20-%20BIOS

I hope from here is possible to extract the right microcode...
Thanks
find
quote
#3
May be that MMTOOL v. 3.12 is not the right utility because I noticed that after removing the cpu microcode from amilo's bios, it is inserted into ecs bios with date, platform type and cpuid incorrect ...

I have found another motherboard that officially support my cpu..here
http://www.biostar-usa.com/mbdetails.asp...SM7COMB56E
find
quote
#4
A number of threads have been looking for adding support for this processor onto desktop and laptop motherboards.

Biostar USA released a retail motherboard CPU combo consisting of a Mobile 4000+ and an Nforce4 motherboard, so this CPU is officially supported even though the manufacturer CPU support page doesn't explicitly list it.

I had my Mobile 4000+ working in this motherboard for a while until I got the blown capacitor issue, rendering the motherboard dead.

Anyways, here is the Award BIOS for this motherboard (NF61S):

http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/biosdl.php?BID=378

I don't know how to use this information to help those with the SIS chipset, since I am not familiar with bios modding. Maybe this might be helpful to the Wiz?

The major notebooks with factory installed Mobile 4000+ CPUs were Compaq R4000, HP ZV6000, and some Gateway laptop. I don't know which chipset those came with.
find
quote
#5
Thanks! we did try and find a bios that supported the mobile 4000+ but struggled

this bios could help those requesting the addition of this support

thanks very much Smile

Admin
find
quote
#6
AMILO A1667G notebook too seems to support cpu..
This is the data sheet that confirm support:
http://www.e-prime.eu/download/FSC_AMILO_A1667G.pdf

You can get latest bios 1.06c from
http://support.ts.fujitsu.com/download/S...20-%20BIOS

I tolk about it here:
http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-Su...lon64-4000
find
quote
#7
Ok we have made another microcode discovery!

If you want to take this risk ive prepared a mod for the v1.05 bios for your motherboard which will hopefully add Mobile 4000+ to the list of supported CPU's

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/747181/ECS%20258...34s282.zip

Try at your own risk!

Regards
Admin
find
quote
#8
Thank you very much! Ì'll try it monday cause now I am out for work...just an imformation...you have exctract microcode from amilo's or biostar's bios? Cause I saw that amilo's microcode (that officially support my cpu) is dated 2004 while cpu was introduced on august 2005. so may be that difference is in acpitbl.....
find
quote
#9
no this came from a completely different board - its just microcode so its not motherboard / chipset dependent.

My co-admin is better if the ACPITBL is involved - im going to stay clear of it because i dont know what im messing with there Tongue

find
quote
#10
(11-05-2010, 05:11 AM)1234s282 Wrote: no this came from a completely different board - its just microcode so its not motherboard / chipset dependent.

My co-admin is better if the ACPITBL is involved - im going to stay clear of it because i dont know what im messing with there Tongue

LoL..
Monday I'll try your bios...may be the help of co-admin will not necessary...
Thanks a lot too
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)