Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Antonek
Today 11:54 AM
» Replies: 1201
» Views: 169258
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500 (78CNxxWW) BIOS Un...
Last Post: Antonek
Today 11:53 AM
» Replies: 302
» Views: 85659
[REQUEST] Lenovo G500(S) (7BCNxxWW) Whit...
Last Post: Antonek
Today 11:21 AM
» Replies: 674
» Views: 151191
Dell XPS 15 9550 bios password help!!!
Last Post: abubin
Today 10:02 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 121
VAIO PCV-W2
Last Post: david035
Today 08:46 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 1312
Asus R301LA
Last Post: StefanAm
Today 08:23 AM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 200
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad W701ds BIOS Un...
Last Post: laurenceyu
Today 07:41 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 247
TEMP folder doesn't get used...
Last Post: behealed
Today 07:12 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 47
BIOS ROM question
Last Post: sunrunner
Today 07:02 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 56
[REQUEST] HP Erica6 AMI bios 8906 vF.03
Last Post: RussianJesus
Today 04:03 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 463
[Request] ASUS ROG GL553VW BIOS Unlock
Last Post: genius239
Today 01:42 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 100
[REQUEST] Acer Nitro 5 AN517-51-56YW
Last Post: rog195
Today 12:44 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 197
[REQUEST] Gigabyte AORUS 15 YC Bios Unlo...
Last Post: genius239
Yesterday 08:29 PM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 334
[REQUEST] ASUS FX506LU full unlock
Last Post: Sml6397
Yesterday 06:06 PM
» Replies: 60
» Views: 3196
Gateway M-6337 BIOS Mod & Help Reducing ...
Last Post: Sml6397
Yesterday 04:39 PM
» Replies: 19
» Views: 150
[REQUEST] Lenovo G580 (5ECNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 03:59 PM
» Replies: 1977
» Views: 364441
Lenovo E520 hidden advanced options
Last Post: Noric
Yesterday 02:58 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 89
[REQUEST] Galax A320M BIOS mod request
Last Post: hnv99
Yesterday 11:28 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 100
[REQUEST] Lenovo 530s-14ARR (8PCN58WW) B...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 05:47 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 391
[REQUEST] Lenovo X1 CARBON 4th GEN (20FB...
Last Post: canutti
09-19-2021 01:15 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 157

ASUS Crosshair I - need help extracting NCPUCODE.BIN
#1
Smile 
Dear 1234s282,

thank you for your reply on mydigitallife and thanks for inviting me to your community here on bios-mods.com Big Grin

Hello community,

sorry to bother you with something like this, but I have only recently engaged in BIOS modding. I’ve tried everything (reading lots of tutorials & searching Google to no avail) and just don’t get behind this problem.

I’m trying to extract “NCPUCODE.BIN” from a BIOS file (see attached jpg) with CBrom version 1.15 using the string:

cbrom115 SOURCE.BIN /cpucode extract
-or-
cbrom115 SOURCE.BIN /nc_cpucode extract

But nothing works Sad I don’t understand what “(SP)” means in the item list, I'm guessing it's uncompressed data within the BIOS. Could you please give me a hint on how to extract that file? Furthermore, do I need a special string to implement the extracted NCPUCODE.BIN to my destination BIOS? Or do I need a different tool altogether? I would do it this way:

cbrom115 DESTINATION.BIN /nc_cpucode (or just /cpucode)

Once I get the job done, I'll be happy to make an unofficial, modded BIOS (AGESA and eSATA BIOS has already been successfully updated) available for the ASUS Crosshair I (Nf590, AM2 socket) to all of you, which will for sure make this gem of a board useful for many years to come! Cool

Thank you so much in advance for your help and your time.

Best regards, G.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
find
quote
#2
No worries! Here is the latest NCPUCODE file that is universal for all AMD BIOSes.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1525839/Bios/ROMs/NCPUCODE.BIN

and also please update your CBROM to 1.98 found on our Downloads page.

Thanks!
TheWiz
www find
quote
#3
Tongue 
(08-15-2010, 05:44 PM)TheWiz Wrote: and also please update your CBROM to 1.98 found on our Downloads page.

Hi TheWiz,

the only version of CBrom to be found in your download section is 1.96 Wink do you have something new or could you include it in the DL section? So is the string I want to use correct?

Greetz, G.

find
quote
#4
1.96 is pretty much the same thing Smile The NCPUCODE above is the BIN you are trying to extract already extracted (latest version of the AMD microcode updates)

TheWiz
www find
quote
#5
(08-16-2010, 05:46 PM)TheWiz Wrote: The NCPUCODE above is the BIN you are trying to extract already extracted (latest version of the AMD microcode updates)

got that, and I have been trying two methods or strings of including it in my BIOS:

1. via /cpucode string which adds another item to the module list. That's what I don't want!

2. via /nc_cpucode which "combines" the BIN. It does not seem to do what I want though as the NCPUCODE.BIN within my destination BIOS is still 24.00Kb and not 28.00Kb for the newer version!

What am I doing wrong? Would it be possible for you to update it for me as I seem incapable of doing it right? File is attached - please update the NCPUCODE.BIN within the BIOS with the newest one you had posted.

And btw, could you please explain what "(SP)" in the BIOS item list means? Still unclear about that as question not answered.... Wink

Thanks a lot and best regards, G.



Attached Files
.bin   1402.BIN (Size: 1 MB / Downloads: 9)
find
quote
#6
Heres your bios containing the new 28k NCPUCODE. I have upgraded the Nvidia MediaSmart RAID Utility to v10.0.0.34 and the Nvidia Lan ROM Boot Agent to v277.0547. AGESA has been upgraded to v3.7.0.1.

Flash at your own risk!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/747181/Asus%20Cr...34s282.zip

Regards
Admin
find
quote
#7
(08-17-2010, 06:37 AM)1234s282 Wrote: Heres your bios containing the new 28k NCPUCODE. I have upgraded the Nvidia MediaSmart RAID Utility to v10.0.0.34 and the Nvidia Lan ROM Boot Agent to v277.0547. AGESA has been upgraded to v3.7.0.1.


Hi 1234s282,

hope you feel better and thanks for your help. Would you mind sending me those updates packages (MediaSmart RAID v10, AGESA 3.7.0.1, NV LanROM etc.) in a ZIP? I'm afraid the BIOS you have sent me contains a corrupted AGESA and has now 2 pci bios items more, thus the old ones were not replaced, just new ones added on top. I'd guess this will be conflicting.

And please, could you tell me HOW you got NCPUCODE.BIN updated? What does (SP) mean in the item list? Which CBrom command string do you use, please? Or any other tool you are using?

Thanks again and regards,

G.


find
quote
#8
Hey Giniemaster

I am not completely sure what (SP) stands for, but NCPUCODE is a sensitive
code block therefor cbrom can not extract or re insert it.
The process we use to extract NCPUCODE is done manually with a hex editor.

EDIT:
Code:
cbrom "Your Bios" /nc_cpucode release

cbrom "Your Bios" /nc_cpucode "New CPUCODE"

Will not work sorry for the wrong info, my bad :p

Ej52
find
quote
#9
Hi 1234s282,

please remove Crosshair Mod-BIOS1402.bin from your post as it's not working and I see people downloading it! They will brick their boards.

And I know why for several reasons:

1. by releasing PCI ROMs with CBrom 1.96, the tool edits Meminit.bin and screws something up. CBrom 1.15 doesn't do that Smile
2. your updated PCI ROMs had just been added as items D & E, but not replaced with A & B. Furthermore, you have to HEX edit e.g. NVRAID.ROM to enter a correct vendorID or it will not work Wink
3. the AGESACPU you had included is way smaller than the one I have extracted, thus I'd conclude it doesn't hold as much information i.e. is missing something.

Anyhow, I have managed to include NVRAID.ROM version 9.85 in my mod-BIOS with a correctly hexed vendorID and this works fine now. I guess this will conclude my efforts to modify this BIOS any further unless you are able to send me the already named component ROMs/BINs in a ZIPed file. It's just easier for me to have these component files on hand so I can try this without bothering you all the time... thus a ZIP package is much appreciated.

Thanks again and greetz, G.
find
quote
#10
Hey Giniemaster

I did some searching last night and found away 2 update CPUCODE with
CBROM only, i posted a new thread in the Tutorials section so check it out Smile

Ej52
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)