Forum RSS Feed Follow @ Twitter Follow On Facebook

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





[-]
Latest Threads
[REQUEST] LG GRAM 14T990 Unlock request
Last Post: riclausk
Today 12:15 PM
» Replies: 16
» Views: 4058
[REQUEST] SLIC 2.1 for ASRock 880GM-LE F...
Last Post: amijim
Today 10:27 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 42
[REQUEST] Lenovo G410 (79CNxxWW) Whiteli...
Last Post: pak20042004
Today 07:46 AM
» Replies: 52
» Views: 10562
[REQUEST] Dell Alienware 15 R3 BIOS Unlo...
Last Post: jason.exe
Today 03:44 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 82
[REQUEST] Samsung NP450R5G unlock hide s...
Last Post: magg
Today 12:54 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 74
lenovo e595 20nf bios spw unlock
Last Post: vsteez
Yesterday 07:56 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 84
uefi mod for mac pro 1.1/21. support xeo...
Last Post: victorgbrmrr
Yesterday 01:17 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 130
Asus h110m-a & xeon e3-1280v5
Last Post: Brutoloco
Yesterday 07:49 AM
» Replies: 14
» Views: 438
[REQUEST] Lenovo Y50-70 (9ECNxxWW) BIOS ...
Last Post: Dudu2002
Yesterday 07:24 AM
» Replies: 2321
» Views: 658505
[REQUEST] Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E531 (HEE...
Last Post: MAVARACOMPLEX
Yesterday 03:23 AM
» Replies: 121
» Views: 22127
[REQUEST] - ACER ASPIRE 2012 BIOS with U...
Last Post: Aspire
Yesterday 03:21 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 85
[WORKING] Asus P8Z77-V: NVMe BOOT Suppor...
Last Post: 0nlythebest
04-19-2024 08:35 PM
» Replies: 21
» Views: 22866
[REQUEST] Lenovo Thinkpad SL400 & SL500 ...
Last Post: ivan333bor
04-19-2024 04:54 PM
» Replies: 16
» Views: 6831
[REQUEST] DNS A35FB, Pegatron A35
Last Post: Polkash51
04-19-2024 01:28 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 2868
ASUS R1F CPU upgrade
Last Post: DeathBringer
04-19-2024 12:22 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 247
[REQUEST] Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 15 (8ACNxx...
Last Post: psycomaffo
04-18-2024 10:36 AM
» Replies: 69
» Views: 26189
Request for Modded BIOS with AI Tweaker ...
Last Post: CertifiedCosmos
04-17-2024 05:04 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 182
Lenovo ThinkCentre M71e GPU Whitelist re...
Last Post: saschalein
04-17-2024 03:23 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 164
[REQUEST] Lenovo Ideapad 330S-15ARR (7WC...
Last Post: nadolivbios
04-17-2024 01:26 PM
» Replies: 25
» Views: 6270
How To Add SLIC 2.1 To An Intel Motherbo...
Last Post: sanya.silitskiy
04-17-2024 11:52 AM
» Replies: 73
» Views: 220314

[Request] Lenovo E545 (AMD) TDP+Advanced Menu
#11
(11-15-2021, 01:57 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: or do I need to flash directly with a CH341A?
This.
find
quote
#12
(11-15-2021, 02:03 PM)Maxinator500 Wrote:
(11-15-2021, 01:57 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: or do I need to flash directly with a CH341A?
This.
Why is it that one would need to flash it directly like that? Is it related to the following error I'm getting in WinPhlash?
'Corrupted Interface Descriptors in New BIOS file
Part Table Signature not found in the interface
Error Code -161'

I actually am getting this error regardless of which BIOS I load (modded or not modded)
find
quote
#13
(11-15-2021, 02:05 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Is it related to the following error I'm getting in WinPhlash?
To the other error. It is difficult to debug flashing program if you are not the owner of such a device with UEFI Phoenix bios on board.
Please notice that WinFlash in bios update for Lenovo E545 works with .FL1 bios file. If your update steps are actually correct, then I don't know the source of the problem described.
find
quote
#14
(11-15-2021, 02:28 PM)Maxinator500 Wrote:
(11-15-2021, 02:05 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Is it related to the following error I'm getting in WinPhlash?
To the other error. It is difficult to debug flashing program if you are not the owner of such a device with UEFI Phoenix bios on board.
Please notice that WinFlash in bios update for Lenovo E545 works with .FL1 bios file. If your update steps are actually correct, then I don't know the source of the problem described.
Is there anything special I need to do before flashing the new Bios with CH341A? Should I Remove the CMOS battery?
find
quote
#15
(11-15-2021, 02:28 PM)Maxinator500 Wrote:
(11-15-2021, 02:05 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Is it related to the following error I'm getting in WinPhlash?
To the other error. It is difficult to debug flashing program if you are not the owner of such a device with UEFI Phoenix bios on board.
Please notice that WinFlash in bios update for Lenovo E545 works with .FL1 bios file. If your update steps are actually correct, then I don't know the source of the problem described.
When running your start.bat file, this is what I'm getting as a CMD output:
https://imgur.com/q7XMPRu
Is that what is supposed to happen? The text inside of patches.txt indicates that more lines of hex code should have been replaced than just the 2 replaced by the script.

All I did was drag the original ROM file into the folder and click start.bat, did I miss something?

Is there any way to flash this from within windows? Or is there perhaps a way to create a bootable USB? I'd really prefer not to use the CH341A if possible because if that bricks it I've never been able to recover a brick after using the CH341A.
find
quote
#16
(11-15-2021, 05:59 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: The text inside of patches.txt indicates that more lines of hex code should have been replaced than just the 2 replaced by the script.
No. There are literally two lines: the one for Advanced tab and the second for AMD tab. The third one is for whitelist disabling, but I set the hash sign in front of this line to disable its execution.
(11-15-2021, 05:59 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Is there any way to flash this from within windows?
We can get started, but it will take a lot of trying to create a patch that bypasses internal checksum integrity. Yes, checksum thing does exist, but it is intended only for the BIOS installation stage. I haven't disassembled WinFlash UEFI yet, but I've had success with patching WinFlash for EFI bios.
So you manage to install the original BIOS, or find it impossible?
find
quote
#17
(11-16-2021, 02:12 AM)Maxinator500 Wrote:
(11-15-2021, 05:59 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: The text inside of patches.txt indicates that more lines of hex code should have been replaced than just the 2 replaced by the script.
No. There are literally two lines: the one for Advanced tab and the second for AMD tab. The third one is for whitelist disabling, but I set the hash sign in front of this line to disable its execution.
(11-15-2021, 05:59 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Is there any way to flash this from within windows?
We can get started, but it will take a lot of trying to create a patch that bypasses internal checksum integrity. Yes, checksum thing does exist, but it is intended only for the BIOS installation stage. I haven't disassembled WinFlash UEFI yet, but I've had success with patching WinFlash for EFI bios.
So you manage to install the original BIOS, or find it impossible?
I managed to use the CH341A to read the BIos from the chip directly, and it seems the data on the chip is different than what I originally backed up. See attached for the two dump files.

I am concerned about these files not matching, what do you think the reason for this is?

Edit: Can I also disable the whitelist be removing the # in front of the WL string inside patches.txt?


Attached Files
.bin   CH341A Dump.bin (Size: 4 MB / Downloads: 2)
.bin   Software Dump.bin (Size: 4 MB / Downloads: 1)
find
quote
#18
(11-16-2021, 02:12 AM)Maxinator500 Wrote:
(11-15-2021, 05:59 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: The text inside of patches.txt indicates that more lines of hex code should have been replaced than just the 2 replaced by the script.
No. There are literally two lines: the one for Advanced tab and the second for AMD tab. The third one is for whitelist disabling, but I set the hash sign in front of this line to disable its execution.
(11-15-2021, 05:59 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Is there any way to flash this from within windows?
We can get started, but it will take a lot of trying to create a patch that bypasses internal checksum integrity. Yes, checksum thing does exist, but it is intended only for the BIOS installation stage. I haven't disassembled WinFlash UEFI yet, but I've had success with patching WinFlash for EFI bios.
So you manage to install the original BIOS, or find it impossible?
I just attempted flashing the patched version of the rom extracted from the EEPROM with the CH341A, and it bricked my laptop.

I attempted flashing back the un-patched rom that I dumped with the CH341A, still bricked.

I attempted flashing back the original rom that I dumped with the software backup, still bricked.

I am noticing that when I flash a rom to the EEPROM with my CH341A and then immediately dump that flash, the dumped rom is always different in the same places from the rom that was immediately flashed beforehand.

Do you, or anyone else know what is going on here? Why is the data changing automatically when flashing?

Edit: See attached for EEPROM datasheet


Attached Files
.pdf   w25q32v.pdf (Size: 1.54 MB / Downloads: 2)
find
quote
#19
(11-18-2021, 11:16 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Do you, or anyone else know what is going on here?
Maybe something wrong with your CH341A? So far, you have not been able to restore any of the bricked laptops.
(11-18-2021, 07:41 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: I am concerned about these files not matching, what do you think the reason for this is?
Both copies of the bios were saved without errors. The reason why there are differences in them is that there are variables in the bios that can change during the device's operation cycle. For example, date and time.
(11-18-2021, 07:41 PM)HP_ENVY_User_32 Wrote: Can I also disable the whitelist be removing the # in front of the WL string inside patches.txt?
Yes.
find
quote
#20
I don't think the CH341A is bad, but the clip that came with it certainly is not very good. I think I will invest in a better clip.

You misunderstand when I say that the files are not the same, I don't just mean a few bytes here-and-there have changed. In my case there are dozens of rows of data that had info when flashed but when re-dumped were replaced with all 'FF's

I think what's happening here is that the clip is slipping slightly during the flashing process and that is causing 'FF's to be written in cases when the clip had slipped.

What clip do you recommend for a CH341A? Looking online it seems like they are all cheap with poor reviews of their ability to stay on the chip.
find
quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 5 Guest(s)