New year, new stuff! Watch for our announcement on improvements and new content being added to our community.


Forum RSS FeedFollow @ TwitterFollow @ Twitter

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
BIOS help
01-21-2011, 01:31 PM
Post: #1
BIOS help
Hi everyone, im new here my names Chris. im sure this wont be the right section, sorry i didn't know where to put it.

Ok so i am trying to update my bios on my gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro mother board. when i go to the manufactures site and download the latest version, it tells me that the Chipset is not supported? so i press any key to continue, then i get the flash part is not supported. so i press any key to continue again. then it tells me to make sure the Flash is not protected. if i got into my bios settings i can either have flash protection enabled, or Auto. it is set to auto. what am i doing wrong? sorry i haven't really got a clue what im doing so please be patient. after i have sorted out the latest bios i wish to overclock my CPU, help with that would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Chris
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply

Login or Register to remove this ad

01-21-2011, 02:03 PM (This post was last modified: 01-21-2011 02:06 PM by MrTangoWhisky.)
Post: #2
RE: BIOS help
Short research gave me
http://www.gigabyte.de/support-downloads...x?pid=1689

and this
http://www.gigabyte.de/products/product-...id=1689#ov

...
So the question is wich version of the mainboard do you own, rev.1 or rev.2 or even Pro3 or Pro-G...
...and then we need a working link to your BIOS!

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 02:40 PM (This post was last modified: 01-21-2011 03:09 PM by Chris230291.)
Post: #3
RE: BIOS help
(01-21-2011 02:03 PM)MrTangoWhisky Wrote:  Short research gave me
http://www.gigabyte.de/support-downloads...x?pid=1689

and this
http://www.gigabyte.de/products/product-...id=1689#ov

...
So the question is wich version of the mainboard do you own, rev.1 or rev.2 or even Pro3 or Pro-G...
...and then we need a working link to your BIOS!

Thanks for the reply.
Ok so how would i find out that information you asked for? if im honest i got this computer out of a skip so i have no manuals ect. on the board itself it just says GA-8IPE1000 pro?

[Image: 957f83db.jpg]

thanks again.
OK i found out it's a rev 2!! I think so anyways, here's what biosagentplus.com spat out...


BIOS Type: Award
BIOS Date: July 29th 2003
BIOS ID: 07/29/2003-i865PE-6A79ZG0FC-00-None
BIOS OEM: Intel 865PE AGPSet BIOS for 8IPE1000 PRO Fa - Fa
Chipset: Intel 2570 rev 2
SuperIO: ITE 8712F rev 5 at port 002E
Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Motherboard: 8IPE1000P

i hope i got that right?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 03:43 PM
Post: #4
RE: BIOS help
You are right! Your informations are telling the same to me. So HERE you can find all the available BIOS'es for your board and you are still using the very first one as THIS is the latest.
Now we need to ensure the latest BIOS is working on your machine so you need to flash from "plain DOS" as it is what you get booting MS-DOS from floppy or USB-Stick or CD-ROM. You can get the howto everywhere on the web.
then you can just use the file from the extracted archive you've downloaded from gigabyte. If you are really sure everything is OK you can just run the batchfile from the DOS-prompt. Don't forget to perform a clear CMOS after the flash is successfully finished. After rebooting you should get to the BIOS settings menu loading the BIOS-defaults and then making your own settings like date and time.

All this should be done with the knowledge of the risk bricking the board!

Good luck and best wishes!

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 04:04 PM
Post: #5
RE: BIOS help
thank you, i found that but wasn't sure.

sorry but i dont understand what i have to do once i have downloaded it. i know very little about computers and what you said made no sense to me. sorry. i still appreciate you trying to help me. so do i copy the files to CD or USB, then boot from them the same way you install windows?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 05:12 PM
Post: #6
RE: BIOS help
so i found out about q-flash in my bios. but it only has an option for a floppy disk? can i not use a USB drive? i do have a floppy drive somewhere if thats all i can use?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 05:14 PM (This post was last modified: 01-21-2011 05:17 PM by MrTangoWhisky.)
Post: #7
RE: BIOS help
It is the easiest...
Take a look at our tutorial:
http://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread-Ho...-DOS-Guide

sorry for being late with that, I had to search for cause I never needed! Wink

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 06:05 PM
Post: #8
RE: BIOS help
thanks! so once i have formatted my usb with the HP software i need to download "AWDFLASH", drag it onto my USB then drag over the bios file you sent me the link for earlier? then restart and press escape, then type...

awdflash 8ipekp2.fg /py /sn /cc / cd /cp /wb /r

OR

awdflash flash879 /py /sn /cc / cd /cp /wb /r
???
Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 06:28 PM
Post: #9
RE: BIOS help
You don't need awdflash as AMI made your BIOS and gigabyte sends you a working version of amiflash (flash879.exe) and the batch-file (autoexec.bat) with all the needed param's inside.
Are you sure this USB-stick will boot anyways? Try it first!
Then, if it works go back to Windows and unpack just the archive (motherboard_bios_ga-8ipe1000pro(rev2.x)_fg.exe) to your almost empty stick. Let it replace all files if he wants to and start with the stick again. The autoexec.bat is executed automatically if everything is fine.

Sometimes you just have to try to be sure it is not working...
[Image: logo.png]
I am back in here as I promised! Big Grin So tell me your needs!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 07:22 PM
Post: #10
RE: BIOS help
(01-21-2011 06:28 PM)MrTangoWhisky Wrote:  You don't need awdflash as AMI made your BIOS and gigabyte sends you a working version of amiflash (flash879.exe) and the batch-file (autoexec.bat) with all the needed param's inside.
Are you sure this USB-stick will boot anyways? Try it first!
Then, if it works go back to Windows and unpack just the archive (motherboard_bios_ga-8ipe1000pro(rev2.x)_fg.exe) to your almost empty stick. Let it replace all files if he wants to and start with the stick again. The autoexec.bat is executed automatically if everything is fine.

thanks a lot dude i have done it now!
one last thing, do you know how to overclock through the bios? i have looked online but i think my bios is different from all the guides i have seen. i have an intel pentium 4 2.66GHz processor. i want to overclock it as much as possible on what i can only assume is the standard heat sink and fan. heres a picture, it looks quiet big??
[Image: be89ee40.jpg]

thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
BIOS-Mods Member Chat
To join us in the community live chat, please register or login.